Whats your theological worldview?

You can take this interesting quiz, which asks a series of theological questions and then scores you on your level of theological perspective. As I said its interesting, kind of in the tradition of the Myers-Briggs personality assessment.

From the comments we get, Im sure there are a lot of theological perspectives reading here. I’m not sure if that’s good or bad, we can only judge what you —or I— believe based on what the scriptures say. But if you were looking for a “name” for your perspectives, maybe this is it. If you’d like to share your results, feel free to do so in the comments area.

Note: not to be taken too seriously :), unless of course you end up opposite of what the Bible says!

Having fun? Reader theological profiles so far:

  • Evangelical Holiness/Wesleyan w/ pentecostal bent –ย 3
  • whew!, not a “fundamentalist” – 1
  • fundamentalist, but likes science – 1
  • Advertisements

    14 thoughts on “Whats your theological worldview?

    1. Hey Pastor DL,

      Even though I have some problems with this quiz, I decided to take it anyway. The results show that my primary theological leanings are in the Evangelical Holiness/Wesleyan traditions. I can’t say I generally disagree. I have read up on Wesleyan theology more than the Reformed though and have agreed with some of what I’ve read. I also have a lil’ Pentecostal bent in me. And to think I was raised Baptist! He he.

      Nevertheless I’m starting to research classical Christianity i.e. the Nicene and Apostle’s Creeds, the patristics, the doctrine of the Trinity, the authority of the Holy Writ. I’ll continue this research once I get into seminary. Touchstone Magazine: A Journal in Mere Christianity, Reclaiming the Mind Ministries and Bible.org are good resources. Have you checked them out?

      Blessings.

      GCMW: Jason, yes I love me some Bible.org. I haven’t perused the others as of yet.

    2. wow…surprise surprise….(not..) i’m a ‘fundamentalist’…LOL
      (although i take issue with the quiz’s comment about me being ‘opposed to science’ or that science “opposes” the Bible. i AM a “scientist” so i heartily disagree…otherwise, pretty accurate…Lol

    3. Finally, it’s settled them! ๐Ÿ™‚

      You scored as a Fundamentalist
      You are a fundamentalist. You take the Bible as the foundation of your faith and read it very literally, and it shapes your worldview. Non-fundamentalist Christians have watered-down the Gospel in your view, and academic study of the Bible stops us from ‘taking God at his word.’ Science is opposed to faith, as it contradicts basic biblical truths.
      Fundamentalist
      82%
      Reformed Evangelical
      82%
      Evangelical Holiness/Wesleyan
      64%
      Neo orthodox
      57%
      Charismatic/Pentecostal
      21%
      Emergent/Postmodern
      18%
      Roman Catholic
      14%
      Classical Liberal
      4%
      Modern Liberal
      0% >/i>

    4. I agree with eric! I have never thought science is opposed to faith nor do I take literal what is not to be taken literal. I also believe academic study is of the Bible is very important!

    5. Ok Jason, we are now a majority! ๐Ÿ™‚
      My results:

      You scored as a Evangelical Holiness/Wesleyan
      You are an evangelical in the Wesleyan tradition. You believe that God’s grace enables you to choose to believe in him, even though you yourself are totally depraved. The gift of the Holy Spirit gives you assurance of your salvation, and he also enables you to live the life of obedience to which God has called us. You are influenced heavly by John Wesley and the Methodists.
      Evangelical Holiness/Wesleyan
      96%
      Reformed Evangelical
      68%
      Neo orthodox
      54%
      Charismatic/Pentecostal
      46%
      Fundamentalist
      36%
      Modern Liberal
      32%
      Emergent/Postmodern
      25%
      Classical Liberal
      14%
      Roman Catholic
      0%

    6. Hey! They got me right! I would certainly describe myself as an Evangelical Wesleyan Holiness. Liked the quiz. I am presently examinig the Holiness Wesleyan tradition through personal study and research. It is not a perfect tradition but I am not ashamed to be labeled so.

    7. Im not so sure I was influenced by John Wesley and the Methodists as much as I was by Charles Mason and the COGIC.

      I think I am incorporating the most sound aspects of each.

      LOL@ Elder Jimmy! Do you also have some pentecostal flavoring?

    8. You scored as a Evangelical Holiness/Wesleyan
      You are an evangelical in the Wesleyan tradition. You believe that God’s grace enables you to choose to believe in him, even though you yourself are totally depraved. The gift of the Holy Spirit gives you assurance of your salvation, and he also enables you to live the life of obedience to which God has called us. You are influenced heavly by John Wesley and the Methodists.
      Evangelical Holiness/Wesleyan
      86%
      Fundamentalist
      79%
      Neo orthodox
      75%
      Reformed Evangelical
      75%
      Emergent/Postmodern
      50%
      Roman Catholic
      50%
      Charismatic/Pentecostal
      46%
      Classical Liberal
      18%
      Modern Liberal
      14%

      My results surprised me a bit. However, my Roman Catholic upbringing evidently came through. I didn’t know who one of the “preachers” asked about in the poll was, so I chose the “middle” choice for that one. I know about heretic Spong, and choice “disagree”…but didn’t recognize the other guy.

      Modern Liberal…14%??? No way! Classical Liberal? 18%? What is that?

    9. Yes, I was raised in the United Holy Church of America. Ever heard of us? Our Bishops are often great comrades. Bishop Mason and the founders of UHCA were contemporaries and friends. Bishop Ithiel Clemmons was a semi-frequent speaker at our General Convocations. UHCA lays claim to being the oldest Holiness Pentecostal Church, black or otherwise being organized in May of 1886 a few months before the Church of God (Clevelland Tennesee.) COGIC. UHCA was not incorporated until 1923, I think, 5 years after COGIC. About 15 years ago at a COGIC meeting a proclamation ws made by the leadership confirming COGIC’s friendship and siserhood with UHCA confirmed the claim as the oldest holiness/pentecostal group.There are only about 100,000 adherants. Very small compared to COGIC numbers. The MT Calvary HCA and MT Sinai HCA came from the UHCA. Yup, I am flavored with some pentecostal, alright.

    10. ahh Christine, I knew you were a softy! that’s why I we love you! and to think my fundi bottom is a Methodist, all be it an annoying one. ๐Ÿ™‚

    11. Yes, Elder Jimmy via Mt Sinai and Shirley Ceasar, et al.

      Interesting history.

      BTW, Im not “Memphis” COGIC, but was born and raised in COGIC, was with them until 2000. Moved on still have heavy ties.

    12. This was really interesting. I don’t like questions that don’t leave me many choices, especially when I was not particularly familiar with a couple of the names mentioned in a few of the questions.

      Anyway, the quiz determined that I am Neo Orthodox:

      You are neo-orthodox. You reject the human-centredness and scepticism of liberal theology, but neither do you go to the other extreme and make the Bible the central issue for faith. You believe that Christ is God’s most important revelation to humanity, and the Trinity is hugely important in your theology. The Bible is also important because it points us to the revelation of Christ. You are influenced by Karl Barth and P T Forsyth.

      Neo orthodox
      64%
      Evangelical Holiness/Wesleyan
      57%
      Classical Liberal
      57%
      Charismatic/Pentecostal
      46%
      Modern Liberal
      43%
      Reformed Evangelical
      43%
      Emergent/Postmodern
      39%
      Fundamentalist
      32%
      Roman Catholic
      25%

      I guess I don’t disagree with the summation. I’ll have to research these gentlemen they mention to see for sure.

      -Dee

    13. Wow! I really considered myself a fundamentalist. Of course, I had no idea who some of those guys were. I wonder what part of me is Roman Catholic, since I think that church as a whole is Satan’s mockery of God’s true church.

      You Scored as Evangelical Holiness/Wesleyan
      You are an evangelical in the Wesleyan tradition. You believe that God’s grace enables you to choose to believe in him, even though you yourself are totally depraved. The gift of the Holy Spirit gives you assurance of your salvation, and he also enables you to live the life of obedience to which God has called us. You are influenced heavly by John Wesley and the Methodists.

      Evangelical Holiness/Wesleyan
      100%
      Neo orthodox
      75%
      Fundamentalist
      71%
      Reformed Evangelical
      68%
      Charismatic/Pentecostal
      29%
      Classical Liberal
      25%
      Roman Catholic
      25%
      Emergent/Postmodern
      18%
      Modern Liberal
      11%

    Comments are closed.