Bobby Jones' strange take on McClurkin's testimony

Does Bobby Jones personally resent Donnie McClurkin’s very vocal and public accounts of McClurkin’s deliverance from homosexuality? Here’s what Jones told AP music writer Nekesa Mumbi Moody  what the church thought about McClurkin: 

A lot of people resent the fact that he claims that he is no longer homosexual, that he was raped, and a lot of those kinds of things. A lot of your die-hard Christians just don’t care for that,” Jones says.

How strange that Jones would pin the alleged resentment on “die hard Christians”. What do you think he meant by “die-hard Christians”? It would seem he would say the opposite. Its been the liberal Christian crowd that has excoriated McClurkin most.  Can this be a case of  Jones airing his own feelings through mythical “die-hard Christians”?

Source: BlackNews

16 thoughts on “Bobby Jones' strange take on McClurkin's testimony

  1. Okay! I retract ALL of my concerns about the comparisons made between Bobby Jones and James Cleveland. What and who are the die-hard Christians? I’m guessing they are the ones who take scripture seriously…… I saw his gospel circus today feturing Patti Labelle. I had no iea that Somewhere Over the Rainbow was a gospel song. The foolish audience were waving their hands like they were in church and feeling “the presence”. It was a presence, all right. It wasn’t holy, though. Carry On, Brother DL.

  2. Elder Jimmy, they are under the influence of ___________. Fill in the blank, only do not put the Holy Spirit.

    Does anyone ever remember Jones having Donnie Mac on his show?

    When I was in the lifestyle, Jones is doing what we would call “throwing shade”. You can almost sense the sarcasm dripping from his lips…”he claims that he is no longer homosexual…”

  3. Again, as I’ve stated in other discussion boards, I am not surprised. His “a lot of people resent the fact…” comment speaks to his cowardice and fear of peoples’ condemnation about his sexuality, which I still don’t get can be a mystery of question mark to anyone.

    I saw Donnie McClurkin’s life story some time back and I found it inspirational that he could be open about his sin and his deliverance. That kind of transparency should be celebrated. I’m rather proud of Donnie for doing what BJ refuses to do and that is to just tell the truth. (Yes, I’ve said it and I’ll say it again: anyone with eyes can see that Bobby Jones is NOT STRAIGHT…okay, well maybe he IS straight– a straight MESS).

    I obviously cannot speak for whether or not Donnie McClurkin still IS gay and acting on it, but for speaking out, being transparent and delivered, I say, “Hallelujah, Lord.” There’s nothing God can’t do.

    What Donnie did was Christian, brave and uplifiting to the Kingdom as a whole. Yes, it’s an uncomfortable subject, but in my opinion, only a person who HAS truly been delivered can and will speak out about it without the fear of man’s judgment and/or attempt at condemnation.

    As for the Patti LaBelle thing: I love Patti and although “Over the Rainbow” is not a gospel (or even religious) song, she ‘sangs’ it like it is. I wish she would have sang “Pass Me Not, O Gentle Savior” or “His Eye is on the Sparrow.” When she sings those songs, I definitely feel the presence. I’m actually a little perplexed that she chose to sing THAT song at a gospel music event. (I didn’t see it. I’m gathering from the posts that that’s what it was).

  4. I’m not surprised. That’s just Bobby Jones’ way of hating on Donnie McClurkin for being a man about it. I was rather proud of Donnie McClurkin for being so transparent. I think only a person who is certainly delivered from a thing can stand before people without the fear of judgment and condemnation and just tell the truth. That ushers in so many “Hallelujah, Lord” shouts because you can absolutely tell when God’s anointing manifests itself in people’s lives.

    Donnie did the Christian, brave and uplifting thing. He told the truth, shamed the devil (not himself because there is no shame in victory) and kept it pushin’.

    If anything, Bobby could learn from Donnie.

  5. The truth will make us all free. Leading people to God’s word is the most important thing we can do as Christians. Tell them. Show them. Read it to them. After you have shared what thus said the Lord, pray for God’s mercy for those who knowingly continue in sin. The wages of sin is DEATH and eternal separation from our Lord and Saviour…..Jesus Christ.

  6. What difference does it make what Ms. Labelle sings with her strange fire if she rejects what the Word has to say about sexual behavior? Pass Me Not or Holy Holy Holy if she will not obey GOD? “Whoso offereth praise glorifieth me and to himwho ordereth his conversation (maner of living) aright will I show the salvation of GOD.” Psalm 50:23.

    In this same psalm the LORD says;..To the wicked GOD says; “What right have you to recite my laws or take my covenant on your lips? You hate My intruction and cast My words behind you. You use your mouth for evil and harness your tongue to deceit (Voulez vous couchez avec moi, ce soir?)…… These things you have done and I kept silent; you thought the “I AM” was altogether like you. But I will rebuke you and accuse you to your face. Consider this those who forget GOD or I will tear you to pieces with none to rescue: He who sacrifices thank offerings (praises) honors me and he prepares the way that I may show him the salvation of GOD.
    What presence is Pattli Labelle’s singing? Who is being delivered? Who is crying out to GOD? What presence is on Patti’s singing. Every presence is not from GOD.
    athe sad thing about what I have just asked can be asked of th majority of the most popular gospel “artists” and the answers would be the same…oh and so would the condemnation from Psalm 50.

  7. Elder,
    All I can say is that I’m sorry that Donnie ever got caught up with Barak O. I know this is off point, but I believe that whole thing was designed to destroy Donnie and his influence. I view Barak TOTALLY different as a result.

    So far as Dr. Bobby, has he addressed the gay movie yet? I think he thinks it’ll just blow over an us “die-hard Christians” will just go away…but I don’t think so!

  8. Patti and Bobby are headliners at the next salute to Gospel airing on the Word Network at the end of Jan. No mention Donnie.

    Wonder whats going on with that?

    Dr. Bobby is delaying the inevitable.

  9. It is no longer okay, probably to have the now controversial Donnie McKlurkin because he is not politically correct.
    Incidentally , on New Year Eve BET had a special specail that enumerated the most detrimental things that have ever happened to African Americans. The # 5 tging was the Black Church. PLEASE someone tell me they saw that same special. It came on right before their year eand comedy special called “Crank that Year Back. I was so enraged. I started to call and email around. I sent a complaint to BET’ I’m sure it will go right in the trash. This is the same BET that will merchandise the black church later this month will their bastardized form of gospel in their yearly special. Last year, the host comedian Steve Harvey described “turning the other cheek” in response to a personal assault was someting a “Fool” would do. That should have been edited. But these godless portenders and money whores will allow anything to make mo’ money, mo’ money, mo’ money.

  10. Why is Bobby Jones upset? In that case Little Richard should be upset with all of them. LOL They are all going to “HELL IN A HAND BASKET”. CREEPS!!!

  11. The bible says, “There is NO other name whereby men can be saved, except the name of Jesus.” Bobby Jones has a BET commercial where he says “whomever your god may be.” How many “gods” is he referring to?

    Donnie is being used by God in this carnal generation. Isn’t Bobby Jones gay? That’s why he doesn’t like Donnie. Bobby Jones is dumb enough to believe that if he tells the world homosexuality is OK on TV, then he has had convinced God it is. I say let him hate on Donnie and stay on the down low. God sees and knows all.

    God gave everyone a free will. People can do what they want to. The proof that you love God is that you keep his commandments, especially when it’s so easy to break them. So many people are proving they don’t love God. God is so wise.

  12. Judge and ye shall be judge. Bobby Jones is wrong for passing judgement on Donnie McClurkin, God is the judge of the quick and the dead. Instead of Jones speaking negative about the issue he should pray and put the matter is the Lord’s hands. Men are always trying to put themselves above others. Humble yourself into the Lord. The Lord will have the final say in the matter.

Comments are closed.