Obama calls Romans 1:18-31 “obscure”

True to form, Democratic presidential candidate, Barack Hussein Obama continues to reveal his disdain –and bleak ignorance– for scripture, the Bible and sexual morality, by telling a college group in Ohio that THE most significant and comprehensive scriptural text condemning homosexuality in both men and women is an “obscure passage”.

“I don’t think it [a same-sex union] should be called marriage, but I think that it is a legal right that they should have that is recognized by the state,” said Obama. “If people find that controversial then I would just refer them to the Sermon on the Mount, which I think is, in my mind, for my faith, more central than an obscure passage in Romans.” ((Hear audio from WTAP-TV))

In case you don’t understand the depth of this dissing of scripture, here’s the definition of obscure:

1 a: dark, dim b: shrouded in or hidden by darkness c: not clearly seen or easily distinguished : faint <obscure markings>2: not readily understood or clearly expressed; also : mysterious3: relatively unknown:

If Obama can summarily assasinate this scripture as unimportant, then what else will he toss to the side? The larger question is can we call any of the Bible “obscure” and relegate it to unimportance? Not according to 2 Timothy 3:16,17 All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.

Yet, some Christians (more than likely the carnal, spiritually immature types) are pinning their hopes on him with an almost idolatrous fervor. One “gospel artist” sang Obama’s praises as if he were equal to Jesus himself.

Two sources cover the story in depth. Incidentally, the mainstream media’ lack of discussion on the talk, ensures that no one other than “bigoted Christians” will be concerned about Obama’s obamanation.

Culture Media Institute: Clueless in Obama Nation

Cybercast News Service: Obama: Sermon on Mount Justifies Same-Sex Unions

25 thoughts on “Obama calls Romans 1:18-31 “obscure”

  1. Fascinating.

    As a black man I want to support the brother, but as a Christian I must continue to stand for what’s right vs. what’s right for now.

    We need to continue to pray that God’s Will be done during this election – the world is clamoring for a king (1 Samuel 10:17-19 ) and God just might give them what they want…

    Speaking Truth…
    http://imspeakingtruth.wordpress.com

  2. But what do you expect from the democrats?

    I have to question Obama’s motive especially after seeing him day that he wants to see a New ;world Order.

    I need to see more information about his liberation theology (marxist) chuch, it takes some doing to have both Obama and the new age queen, Oprah.

  3. Well, the way it looks with the candidates, I may not be voting in this year’s election. It does not matter that Obama is a “bro” and that Hillary is a female (I am not a Democrat). McCain may as well call himself a Democrat because he stands for same sex marriages. I would not want on my conscience voting for someone who stands against what I believe. Tried to explain this to my husband, who feels that the right for us to vote was a long and hard fight; I understood what he was saying, but neither candidate is going to get my vote.

    Just from my heart,
    Leidell

  4. I feel so torn about the support of the “Brother” for president. I am sure I am in the same pseudo-quandry as many other Black folk. I want to see a Black man be president of these United States while I am in the land of the living (HA!) Yet, I am deeply concerened about Obama’s positions on partial birth abortion.
    Regarding his comment about the Romans passage being obscure: He may have been speaking of the fact that Christ’s sermon on the Mount is so much more widely known than the Romans passage. If so, he was using the tertiary definition of the word (relatively unknown) I am must less concerned with that comment than I am about his beliefs about abortion on demand and the horrific partial birth abortion. His voting record reveals a belief in infanticide. That is what I beleive it is, INFANTICIDE.
    He obviously does not hold a high view of the inspiration of the scriptures. As you have reiterated; . “All scripture is given by inspiration…… In fact that was the first scripture I was taught in the Bible Institute I attended for ministry preparation. The view of scripture dictates your beliefs, philosophies and actions. This is most likely his basis for calling any part of the Word of GOD obscure.
    My maternal grandmother used to say; “Just because they’re standing in front of the church beating a tamborine don’t [sic] mean your’e a Christian.” Despite Obama’s statement that he is a Christian doesn’t make him one. He is probably a cultural and nominal christian. I used the lower case “C” deliberately. As far as I ‘m concerened Barak is merely standing in front of the church beating a tamborine….. So I gotta look for another candidate, (sigh). I am committed to Kingdom principles over the affinity I feel for the racial connection I have for Barak.

  5. Okay Elder Jimmy thats it exactly. I truely wish we could have a black president. I dont think that’s strange. But despite Obama being a viable black candidate politically, I cannot cross THIS line and vote for what I feel he represents.

    I am just as sickened (maybe even more) by his unwavering support for the murder of innocent children.

    Beyond being half black, he simply doesnt represent me nor my devotion to life and Godliness.

  6. Yes, Elder Jimmy nailed it. I’d love to see a black president. I just want to see one like J.C. Watts and not Obama!

  7. help me out with this from a Believers perspective if you will.

    Would a “black” man elected Pres mean the United States has reached a better place in terms of racist attitudes? or what, and why is it so desired besides the obvious First ?

    Does anyone remember Clarence Thomas? From my perspective watching those hearings “black” folks ran from him like he was the devil – to me that was truly pathatic and I thank God he didn’t run from the fight! Remebering that, I just can’t rally around this first “black” president or woman or hispanic, asian etc.. I hate group think, maybe I am just not understanding something.

    btw, in July, I am darker than Obama, and my skin pigmentation is pure english snow in December. 🙂 I also think I am more qualified to be Pres than Obama..:) that’s not good for anyone.

    Thinking of this Obama run for Prez. , I recall King Saul from the OT. Israel elected him because he was indeed a Head taller than any other. Perhaps a lesson we would do well to remember in 2008, eh?

  8. Just when I thought that I had heard all of the negative points about Obama, this blatant act of Scripture heresy comes out of his mouth!

    And, according to this blog I learned another chilling fact about his family:

    3. Abongo “Roy” Obama- Barack’s own brother-Luo activist and a militant Muslim who argues that the black man must “liberate himself from the poisoning influences of European culture.”

    “The person who made me proudest of all,” Obama once wrote, “was Roy. Actually, now we call him Abongo, his Luo name, for two years ago he decided to reassert his African heritage.”

    If all of these negative things were found out about the Republican nominee, you can bet that they would be all over the MSM news!

    Christine

    P.S. I didn’t realize that John McCain is in favor of same-sex marriage. Does anyone have any articles proving this to be true?

  9. To my brothers and sisters in Christ, I don’t intend to use Greek mythology as a reference, but Obama seems like a “Trojan Horse” candidate. Looks worthy and sounds worth from the outside but on the inside(spiritually) is deadly!

    This is where I am torn, the Republican party historically has approved policies to the detriment of black people(here and Africa). The current Republicans do not represent the Republican party of Abraham Lincoln. I am not a history expert, but when Lyndon Johnson approved civil rights legislation in the late 1960s, a lot of DixieCrats(southern Democrats) switched parties and became Republicans. I believe George Wallace of Alabama was one of them (in his last days he repented of his racial hatred and discrimination to blacks). A lot of blacks (my parents included) were big time Kennedy supporters and then with LBJ approving the voting rights act and a lot of the affirmative action laws during his last term–many black Americans have been diehard Democrats and have overlooked how the Party has went drastically left to the point of abandoning the Holy Word of God.

    The Democrats today, the Clintons, Obama, Al Gores, John Kerrys, Ted Kennedys, and the list goes on…what Bible are these folks reading????
    Who is pastoring/mentoring these leaders? It surely is not the someone with the Holy Spirit!!!!
    The positions concerning abortion, the sanctity of marriage between man and woman-the Dems go against the word of God and that makes them Apostates!

    On the other hand, the Republicans with the evangelical right (the late Jerry Falwell, etc.–I grew up in Falwell country in Southern Virginia and I know first hand from my relatives that they were segregationist and the Southern Baptist as a whole were segregationists. My conversion in the last 10 years has brought me into contact with Pentecostals/Charismatics/Holiness mindsets in the body of Christ–but I still find American christianity to be segregated (Pastor Foster–that’s another topic!)

    I prayed concerning the 2000 and especially 2004 Presidential elections and I discerned that Bush was not a true Christian(there are documented statements that he has said and the way he wants to divide up Israel-shows you his true colors). A lot of white pastors were telling Christians to vote for Bush in the last 2 elections. I am sorry, but the blind were leading the blind here! I see John Hagee has endorsed McCain. But in my opinion, a vote for McCain is a vote again for George Bush and his terrible policies the last 8 years!
    Lord Jesus Come Quickly! Where are we headed as a country! Prophetically, it’s like we are in the days of the Book of Kings and king after king after king did evil in the sight of the Lord! Saints do not be deceived, we must pray and discern! If the Lord’s will for True Believers means voting for an unknown 3rd party candidate or not voting at all–so be it!

  10. amen Enoch!

    this election has little to do with Rep and Dem, and perhaps much more to do with those who will choose a man / woman a head taller than any other…I rest assured God is at work.

    I will not recommend not voting at all, but I do hope VA has a write in option, if so, I will exercise such. 🙂

  11. I trust those who are not going to vote also don’t complain once during the next 4 years of the new administration. So because someone does not hold to ALL the things you believe, you don’t vote at all? Interesting indeed. I guess I don’t quite understand some “Christian” voters (or in some cases non-voters).

  12. In Worship,
    Im “complaining” before the vote, during the vote and after the vote. “Complaing”, criticizing AND praying for those in office is just as much a legal right as voting. (insert smiley face here.)

    Its called FREEDOM. I have the right to do what I feel is best.

  13. DL…No one is talking about anyone’s right to criticize or complain. Hey, do what you do…who am I?! What I was saying in my comment is that I don’t understand how “Christian” voters (or non-voters in particular) in this election and others make such a fuss about a process that they didn’t participate in by voting. I mean, let’s be honest…has there ever really been a Christian candidate?

    But hey…if it works for you (collective you), then do what you feel is ummmm..best. 🙂

  14. “No one is talking about anyone’s right to criticize or complain. “

    IW very observant of you. Why didnt you notice that no one here said anything about having a Christian candidate? Youre confused on that and perhaps that’s why youre objecting…or complaining.

    You said you didnt “understand”. Well, I attempted to explain it to you. Voting is about choosing a candidate which BEST represents one’s value system. If no one currently being fielded is suitable for one’s vote, then what do you suggest? Put a blindfold on and pick the “lesser of two evils (in this case three)? Where is that in scripture?

    And hey my friend, you also can cut the “Christian” condescension. Voting does not make one a Christian no more than swimming makes one a fish. (insert more smiley faces at will.)

  15. First…Humor is one thing I find in your comments at times. This being one of them…

    Second, I hear your rationale on voting and candidate’s value systems. I just don’t quite agree.

    Lastly, your condescension is just as apparent….uhhhh, my friend :-/

  16. I am suggesting that you all join me in requesting write-in ballots, and that you vote for yourselves. I am quite serious. I can no longer pick the lesser or the two.
    While I am quite amazed that scarcely 40 years after Dr. King’s murder, we can discuss the realities of an African American, or female President… On one level, that’s great. But I am defined by my Faith before my Ethnicity, hence all are unacceptable…

    VOTE YOU in ’08!

  17. InWorship, please receive these words.
    The time and the hour is upon us when true Christians will either 1. Stand for Christ and His word (the whole counsel of God) and contend for the faith in every aspect of this life…Or
    2. Deny Him…and the consequences are stated quite clear by the Lord Jesus Christ–Mark 8:38

    Whosoever therefore shall be ashamed of me and of my words in this adulterous and sinful generation; of him also shall the Son of man be ashamed, when he cometh in the glory of his Father with the holy angels.

    Now, how can any true Christian participate (vote) in a corrupt political system that only offers 2 candidates–democrat or republican. I admit that as a whole, American Christians have been asleep while tares have been planted and have infiltrated every aspect of our society…family, churches, government, schools, businesses, entertainment/media….. We must REPENT when the only options we have are Hillary or Obama or McCain….the scripture quoted above said an adulterous and sinful generation..That’s right NOW!

  18. IW, quite glad youre entertained and otherwise. Its a first for GCM Watch.

    But back to business, what are your suggestions for discerning Christians such as myself when all candidates presented are incongruent with our beliefs and convictions?

    @ E. Bert Todd: I hear you. Good idea. But will that invalidate your vote? Or what if its electronic? Can you still “write-in”?

  19. I cannot disagree with E. Bert Todd — is a write in not valid in the eyes of a voter who does not see another viable candidate? Whether the write in candidate is recognized by the “majority” is irrelevant (IMO); you were still able to make your stance, faith, beliefs known in the person that you wrote in.

    DL, your comment brings me back to a previous comment you made (in reference to mine). Possibly you can further clarify…

    Although I did notice that no one mentioned a Christian candidate explicitly, some of the comments made could have easily led one to believe that is what was being referred (which prompted my usage of the term). You, for example, as a Christian man would like to see someone in office whose beliefs and convictions are congruent with yours. What does that look like exactly? Believing that faith is a big part of one’s beliefs and convictions, is it unfair to think that Christians are seeking the [most] Christian candidate?

  20. EnochWalked: Are you suggesting that Christians don’t vote at all? Because I don’t know about you, but my confidence in an uncorrupt government ain’t all that high…

    What I think many Christians have done and will continue to do is regardless of who sits in the Oval Office, they will glorify God in all that they do — in the communities that they live, in the lives that they touch etc.

  21. IW, your original point (Im not sure if you were trying to make a larger one) was that if you dont vote, you shouldnt “complain”. That’s rather immature.

    Abstention from voting is an viable —and legally acceptable– alternative to voting. It is practiced in Congress and in corporate organizations around the country.

    I think electorate abstention is a particular potent weapon to against any candidate party, etc who refuses to acknowledge a certain threshold of beliefs.

    You attempted to frame our dissension by saying we wanted someone to agree with ALL of our beliefs. Not so. But I like every other politically aware American have certain essentials. Neither Barack, Hillary,nor John meet those benchmarks for me.As someone said, regardless, my devotion to the KINGDOM of GOD is not to be compared with this temporary assignment.

    I will stay with my original resolve and send a strong message that you have to earn my vote if you want it.

    But, back to the post at hand….

    IF Obama wants to be a politician, he should be one and immediately stop being a faux theologian bordering on false prophet.

  22. InWorship, my answer to your question.
    Ultimately it comes down to your individual choice on whether to vote for a 3rd party/write-in, or Abstain. I wholeheartedly agree with Pastor Foster’s take on the matter-that one must earn your vote. My suggestion to you and anyone who thinks we should always vote, let the Holy Word of God be your ultimate authority on what you should do. Be prayerful about this pastor’s endorsement over another’s pastor’s endorsement, because “every one of us shall give account of himself to God” Romans 14:12.

    Concerning Obama’s use of Scripture-Hear me Saints!
    Pastor Foster, we all know how Satan got Eve deceived when he used God’s word then Adam fell because Adam knew God’s word but Adam ate the forbidden fruit (evil words) anyway–we know where that got us!

    We must be like our Lord Jesus Christ, when in the wilderness he rebuked Satan with the correct application of the Holy Word. Obama is a deceiver when he makes commentary on scriptures like this! Someone needs to send him a telegram that says “It is written–Thou shalt not lie with mankind, as with womankind: it is abomination.”
    This automatically disqualifies a vote for Obama, Hillary, or anyone else who stands with a gay agenda.
    God bless!

  23. Problem is politics and one’s worldview (religion) are not exclusive, they are married together in life – always have been and always will be. Example: Moses may not have “run” for office, but he was no less a leader of a people, no?

    Faux believers corrupting the very foundation’s of the Christian faith are qualities found in who?

    -Killing the unborn by sanction of law is still unholy.
    -Celebrating same sex unions by sanction of law is still unholy.
    -corrupting the word of God with a popular vote is still is unholy.
    -ignornace of the word of God is not an excuse.
    -those who are anti christ will stick out like a sore thumb to God’s children whether black, white, man, woman, red, white, or blue.

    what Kingdom or “people” do you belong to? God’s or man’s? One is temporary, the other is eternal.

    Samuel 9:2 He had a son whose name was Saul, a choice and handsome man, and there was not a more handsome person than he among the sons of Israel; from his shoulders and up he was taller than any of the people.

    10:23 So they ran and took him from there, and when he stood among the people, he was taller than any of the people from his shoulders upward.

    Saul means “asked of God”. The people asked and they got a “king”. A warning indeed.

Comments are closed.