Doctrines of devils for the itching ear

If you’ve been wondering and considering why it seems like “the church” is in such a free fall when it comes to sound doctrine, don’t feel strange. What is written in the scripture is surely coming to pass.

For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but after their own lusts shall they heap to themselves teachers, having itching ears; and they shall turn away their ears from the truth, and shall be turned unto fables.” 2Tim 4:3-4

That time is upon us. The itching ear disease is what drives many of those in the false emergent, gay christian, Todd Bentley, social justice gospel, new apostolic reformation, radical inclusion, word of faith and others to defend their self appointed leaders rather than God’s Word. These leaders spoon feed them back the lusts vomited out of their hearts in exchange for a “gospel” gutted of holiness, sin, personal responsibility, hell, repentance and the likes.

In the midst of this eschewing of doctrinal purity by “the church” (quotes intentional), the solution given to us by the scripture is not to change it so that everyone feels included and equal. Neither does it tell us to go silent and just pray about it. Rather, we are admonished to preach with fervor God’s truth even the more. Even when they REFUSE and REJECT it!

“…preach the word; be ready in season and out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort, with great patience and instruction” 2 Timothy 4:2

The gospel is most definitely “out of season” now. Being out of season means that it is not readily accepted. It means that there will be an active resistance to the truth being preached. It also means that those who preach truth become targets themselves. I was reading on Dead Theologians blog this pastor’s brief writing on a peice of this puzzle the Holy Spirit is putting together for those who will see and hear. In it, he says that far too many people in church are simply going through the motions with no real connection to the most fundamental tenets of our faith. The other problem, he says is what is being preached and how that preaching is being presented in the churches.

There is a basic misunderstanding of what salvation is. I suppose a lot of this is because of the preaching itself. If we preach that God want’s to heal your marriage, finances and wayward children and not that we are hell-bound sinners because of our separation from God then ignorance will abound.

The second reason is just as pervasive. Though it appears to be the same as what is mentioned above, it’s slightly different. The church has become a carnival of activities. The gospel is not preached and so the community views the church as a moral funhouse. A safe place where you can go and get re-filled, pumped-up, or simply a few laughs. Then many join the funhouse and growth is reported.

I believe the church is responsible for this huge mirage that has been put out there for the world to see. Satan does not have to be directly involved in this deception when the church is more than willing to do it for him.

Those who are in the grip of the very leader they have demanded for themselves over the rule and reign of God then make unconditional unity their most important value even though no such concept exists in scripture (no , John 17 does not support unconditional unity).  But how can light unite with darkness? How can Christ have fellowship with demons?  How can two walk together except they be agreed? Why would God say, “Come from among them and be separated?”  The worst thing we can do is to assimilate into the false unity movement. That only helps to further the spread of apostasy.  Moreover, in our preaching we dont have to create any new terms, the Bible has sufficiently framed the conversation for us. 

Tim 4:1 Now the Spirit speaketh expressly, that in the latter times some shall depart from the faith, giving heed to seducing spirits, and doctrines of devils;

Doctrines of devils? Isn’t that a rather harsh thing to say about our “brothers and sisters in Christ”?  No, its not harsh, its accurate and truthful. The apostate movements are not teaching sound doctrine, they have replaced it with doctrines of devils. For this cause alone, we should never agree to partner with, dialogue with, fellowship with, support or encourage in any way such wickedness.

Be aware saints, these demons come loaded with talent, charisma, glibness of tongue and a seemingly harmless message of love and unity, thus endearing them to the masses.

If we standfast on the Word of God, our hope is secure. As David wrote in Psalms 19 7-11:The law of the LORD is perfect, converting the soul: the testimony of the LORD is sure, making wise the simple. 8The statutes of the LORD are right, rejoicing the heart: the commandment of the LORD is pure, enlightening the eyes.  9The fear of the LORD is clean, enduring for ever: the judgments of the LORD are true and righteous altogether.  10More to be desired are they than gold, yea, than much fine gold: sweeter also than honey and the honeycomb. 11Moreover by them is thy servant warned: and in keeping of them there is great reward.

11 thoughts on “Doctrines of devils for the itching ear

  1. Thanks for pointing out the “doctrine of devils” line. I am very familiar with 2 Timothy 4:3 but not as much with 1 Timothy 4:1.

    Both passages speak volumes. The “social gospel” is, by definition, a different gospel. These are the same folks peddling the pro-gay theology.

    These people focus on life on this earth and deny the reality of Hell, Heaven and demons, so of course they ignore the verses that highlight their errors.

  2. TODD BENTLEY ~ PETER WAGNER ~ OPEN HEAVENS STAR GATES ~ GATEKEEPERS ~ BRINGING GOD’S KINGDOM TO EARTH
    It is very mysterious. Todd has disappeared suddenly. Just as suddenly as EMMA-O was yanked off his web page, without explanation, Todd simply disappeared.
    Remember dear Christian brothers and sisters, the war FOR TRUTH is NOT OVER. Todd Bentley is just one symptom of the problem. When it seemed that he was losing the battle a powerful reinforcing army came forth for his defense. It was then, that we could see the seriousness of the problem that is facing the church appear. Forces that have been received for years came out into the open before the entire world that exposed witchcraft practices and doctrines of devils.
    We were accused of “dividing the Body of Christ.” Touching God’s anointed,” Blaspheming the Holy Ghost,” and every strange thing in the world while a very perverse man was snatching souls in front of the world.
    I was part of an army of women in the seventies that fought against the ERA. Our side won that battle and defeated the radical women libbers. However, every bit of that Constitutional Amendment is part of our lives today. Congress legislated it piece by piece into existence. We are living today with so many radical things because the women that won that battle simply went back to sleep.
    Church don’t go back to sleep! Keep alert and by all means Todd is simply one little piece of the raging battle for the church. Keep fighting on and defeat the gates of hell that Jesus promised would not prevail against the church.
    Remember, his release said he was taking a rest, it didn’t say that he was not coming back.
    OPENING THE PORTALS TO THE THIRD HEAVENS TO THE DEMONIC REALMS ~ PETER WAGNER SAYS, TODD BENTLEY is the”PORTAL (STAR GATE) TO THE FUTURE” He also said that they are connecting heaven’s gate to earth! According to the Bible, God’s Kingdom has already come to the Earth. Jesus Christ is the Mediator that has already connected God’s Kingdom to the Earth and heaven, See Ephesians Chapter one. It is a power that is not Bentley’s and Wagner’s to give.
    We must not forget the group of mystical Christians operating in extra-biblical fashion to open the paranormal doors to heaven TO THE CHRISTIAN CHURCH. It is a tremendously large army called Joel’s Army that is still on the move to conquer the church and millions of souls.

    Here are a few members of the Latter Rain Movement and few terms that identify them. Todd Bentley, Peter Wagner, Rick Joyner, Che Arn, John Paul Jackson, Jill Austin, Randolph and Kris Vallotton, Randy Clark, Rodney Howard-Browne, Patricia King, Stacey Campbell, Kenneth Hagin, Jr, Chuck Pierce, Dutch Sheets, Bill Johnson, Barbara Yoder, Bob Jones, Paul Cain, Stephen Strader, Cindy Jacobs. Terminology used: Apostolic Alignment, Gatekeepers, opening portals to the Third Heavens.
    Think about it. We have Christian’s leaders who are “Opening the Star Gates to bring forth supernatural entities that they are calling angels (the Winds of Change and to the Nations). Many Christians are sleeping and do not know that they are mixing the Christian faith with witchcraft.”
    Todd Bentley says, SPIRITUAL ENTITIES & STAR GATES will CREATE SUPER HUMANS “OPEN HEAVENS BRING GOD’S KINGDOM TO EARTH” Then, as heaven manifests in the natural realm, both the rule and the reign of Jesus Christ will be known in the earth. “Let God be glorified!” Yet, don’t miss this: The key to bringing that manifestation to earth is an open heaven—a portal through which the kingdom of God invades the earth!
    See m my latest article concerning Todd Bentley’s article about “Opening the Star Gates to the Third Heaven.”

    Pat Holliday

  3. As strong and glorious and mighty Biblical doctrine is, so also dangerous, cancerous and deadly poor doctrine is for the Believer, and the local church. As I continue on with my ministry to encourage believers into memorizing God’s word and meditation upon God’s word, I find that much of the problem is just plain Biblical ignorance. I know this may be a little too long, so cut it if you need to, but this is from CRI, equip.org concerning Todd Bentley:

    ***The woman was standing in the back of the room when the faith of God hit the meeting and her tumor exploded out of her right leg, slid down her leg onto the floor. I said “God, I prayed for like a 100 crippled people. Not one?” He said “That’s because I want you to grab that lady’s crippled legs and bang them up and down on the platform like a baseball bat.” I walked up and I grabbed her legs and I started going BAM. I started banging them up and down on the platform. She got healed. And I’m thinking God, “Why is not the power of God moving?” He said “Because you haven’t kicked that woman in the face.” And there was this older lady worshipping right in front of the platform. And the Holy Spirit spoke to me. The gift of faith came on me. He said “Kick her in the face – with your biker boot!” I inched closer and I went like this. BAM. And just as my boot made contact with her nose she fell under the power of God. And I saw him and the gift of faith came on me and I said “What do I do, God” and God told me to just run him down. So I jumped up in the air and I went BAM and I hit him to the ground, jumped on to him and got into a full mount. Ground and pound. I jumped on him and I was in a full mount and something came over me and instead of punching him I grabbed him by the neck and started choking him and I said “Come out of him, devil! Come out of him, devil!” And I was at another meeting one time and I called out this Chinese gentleman and all of a sudden I went running down the aisle and I hit this guy so hard it drove him back several feet. He hit the ground and his tooth popped right out of his mouth. The pastor was lying on the floor and I was standing up on the platform and I said “God, I want revival” and He said these words to me: “Leg drop the pastor!” I said “What?” He said “Leg drop the pastor!”***

    There is nothing Biblically warranted in this silliness. In fact, if we saw these scenes in a movie we would just say that Hollywood was making another mockery of the Christian faith for laughs.

  4. Your statements are so true, I find it hard to set in my local church because I feel like they have compromize the truth to gain members and they wonder why the Holy Spirit is not been seen. Throught the years the Church has changed many doctrines “that they say is for the Good” to bring in the Harvest. Leave sound doctrine and interpet it in a way that many will join having itching ears. That time is truly upon us.
    Pray for me to stand for sound doctrine when alround me it feels like eveyone else has changed there way of thinking and tells me why do I still believe that way?
    “It the year 2008 every think has changed and the Church has to keep up to win souls”. I heard on the rideo some church speaking like thier church was a every fun place and has something for everybody. I had to laugh. Is that what the Church has become?

  5. Excellent article gcmw. I too have started reading Dead Theologians (a former Atlantan, BTW), and he is spot on – as are you in this article.

    I never thought I’d live to see the “last days” – I had hoped that it was afar off and I would be fellowshipping with the Lord when these things began to happen. I guess the Lord has a better plan (of course) and He intends to use you, me, the brothers and sisters who read this blog and others to aid the sheep during the coming peril.

    May God through Jesus Christ strengthen us for His continual glory.

  6. Speaking truth,

    You said:

    ” never thought I’d live to see the “last days” – I had hoped that it was afar off and I would be fellowshipping with the Lord when these things began to happen. I guess the Lord has a better plan (of course) and He intends to use you, me, the brothers and sisters who read this blog and others to aid the sheep during the coming peril.”

    You have no idea how right you are.

    Kyle

  7. I read this post yesterday, but didn’t have time to comment. As usual, this is a very important and timely message!

    I thought of your post here, Pastor Foster, while reading a post at Herescope which discusses the absolute necessity of pastors to be continually preaching the gospel of truth.

    I thought that this last paragraph was particularly relevant to your topic here. Quite chilling…too.

    “We must have leave to think that our greatest work which our Lord and His apostles were most employed in, and do think others will be of our minds as soon as they shall understand, that if the end of preaching be not turning men from one opinion to another, but from the love and practice of sin to God, there is as much need of it as ever; and that the turning of men from one opinion to another, without a change of heart, as to the love of sin, is but a turning of men from one quarter of the devil’s kingdom to another.”

    The Truth:

    “I would not that ye should have fellowship with devils.” (I Corinthians 10:20b)

  8. Recently I began questioning why many things we accept as acceptable in “mainstream” Christian world, or practices are things that have been altered from the bible. And I was asking myself, when is it okay to switch something the way it is in the bible to a more acceptable tune according to the times we live in? And would I be aware of such things happening so I can make a conscious stance on my own?

    I know things like disregarding the Sabbath, and acknowledging Sunday instead have happened already and there’s no need to dwell on it. But when divorce is becoming acceptable for leaders to go through and still keep preaching like its an acceptable way of living, one has to wonder if the precepts listed by Apostle Paul no longer apply? Or the message being preached, or even mode of worship. All these are listed in the New Testament, but for some reason, the new millenium church has evolved into something different from the early church in terms of vision and substance.

    Reading this blog of yours makes everything come into perspective. The more we keep compromising little by little, the more devils can sneak doctrines in. Bottomline, it might just be better off to have an old school church as is, than this whole modern, westernized and contemporary church system we have going on. Its all cute and fancy and appealing but at what cost?

  9. GCMW,
    Good post! This topic has really been on my heart because up until recently I found myself in the WoF Movement. The WoF Movement at the surface looks enticing but once you begin to un-mask the doctrine you see it for the heresy it is. Preachers today give messages that promise health and wealth if you tip/give God His money. The true message of the Gospel is salvation from sin. I can’t tell you the last time I heard one of these WoF pastors preach on Christ, Hell, Salvation from Hell, Heaven or eternal life! I mean at the end of the day that is what salvation is!

    I blogged a little about the “tricks” going on:

    http://escapee.wordpress.com/2008/07/11/pimpistry-trickery-how-pimps-twist-the-word-of-god/

  10. This is excellent. I cannot tell you how many times I have sat to help ‘disciple’ others, only to find out that many do not even understand some of the basic tenets of the Word. Not only that, they think it strange when you tell them to learn the Word of God and to meditate on it day and night. The preaching today has led people to live self-centered lives and have an expectancy of all this money to come to them if they just praise the Lord. Forget holiness, process of sanctification, dying to self, and any other thing that requires fleshly denials. Literally, I am amazed sometimes when I listen to some sermons on TBN and the like.

  11. James its like having a 30k Mercedes but you dont know how to put gas in the tank.

    I guess some people are just content having the car, even though they are clueless about what it takes to make it move.

Comments are closed.