The “doctrine of feelings”

I haven’t had a high expectation of most gospel artists and their respect for God’s Word despite their popularity. But after hearing this from Tye Tribbett, I might have to take him off that list.

Tye does a great job of explaining  Galatians 5:16 and exposing the lie many who accept gay christianity are being told by their leaders. To feel a sinful desire does not give you the justification to act it out.  Nor does that feeling (s) mean that you are what you feel or emote (orientation). It is simply a sinful inclination of the flesh that must be repudiated. Gay christians are told the opposite: you are what you feel and God approves of it.

He calls it the “doctrine of feelings” and I agree with 99% of it. But would say that a person should never even justify feelings as they may lead to thought processes which could settle in the mind and eventually lead to acting sin out.

Be transformed by the renewing of your mind that you may prove what is the good and perfect and acceptable will of God.

What should you do with thoughts? As Tye mentioned, you should walk in the Spirit, which gives you the power not to fulfill the lusts of the flesh (whatever they might be). Additionally, we are to take proactive measures against the desires of the flesh by “casting down imaginations, and every high thing that is exalted against the knowledge of God, and bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ; and being in readiness to avenge all disobedience, when your obedience shall be made full.” 2 Corinthians 10:5-6 ASV

Note the use of the phrase “cast down” and it’s implications. When something is cast down as opposed to laid down it is more likely to be destroyed due to the forceful nature of the action against it.

12 thoughts on “The “doctrine of feelings”

  1. I ‘m thankful that someone at last came out in that arena and said that this is wrong. He called it what it is. People’s opinions and feelings. Thank u Ty God bless u

  2. Short, succinct, and to the point. The 4 minute clip really broke it down in it’s simplest terms regarding the desires of the flesh VS walking in the Spirit.

    Kyle

  3. Amen, amen, amen! This too is the very same subject that God has been confirming in my spirit…all I can say is my my my… he that has an ear to hear, let him hear what the Spirit is saying!!!

  4. Good for Tye. I have a new found respect for him. Even with his first hit song–“victory,” he said in the song “come out of homosexuality!” I sort of felt this brother was cut from a different cloth. I still don’t get all that jumping around on stage, but hey……..

  5. Youre right James, he has definitely changed the game with this strong teaching. But all that jumping and screaming is a bit much.

  6. Thanks to this post, I too have a better respect for gospel singers – especially the young adults! So disappointed at the nice beats without much substance type of music. Or even some with nice beats and substance but no spine!

    I showed this to my 21 year old daughter and she said, “oh is he the one that does all that jumping around?” I hadn’t seen his music but based upon the comments on this post, I’d say she knows a little more about him than I do!

    Hey, at least he knows the word!

  7. This is a good teaching vid – now if Ty could get his boy Bobby Jones to get over his own doctrine of feelings

    Sorry Pastor F – I’m still on vaca and couldn’t help tossing that one out there 😆

  8. LOL@ST!

    I cant say that I dont share that sentiment. Tye should export that message openly when he is on the show. He probably wont do it, cause ole BJ would make sure he didnt appear of BJ show anymore.

    So much for hoping though.

  9. That’s awesome. I feel the exact same way. I’ve always understood that we (Christians) are supposed to trust in God’s word over EVERYTHING, including our feelings. Tye just reaffirmed this truth. Thank you.

  10. Dear Sir/ Madma,
    I see one of your confernce that coming up by the December 2008, so will will like you people to infom me what i need to do. Because i will like to come up with the conference.
    Thank you and hope to hear from you soon.
    Mr, Misheal Udembah

Comments are closed.