Open Forum III plus

Well I’m taking a short holiday and ministry trip, so Im leaving GCM Watch in your hands. That’s right, youre in charge! While Im away, here’s a brief message for those unfamiliar with me or this work.

Thursday is my 47th birthday and Friday Im preaching is south Georgia.

Since I will be out several days there probably won’t be any new posting. If Jesus comes back before I do, then I wont be back at all and youre welcome to take over the blog permanently 🙂

All commenting rules apply.

18 thoughts on “Open Forum III plus

  1. Happy Birthbay:)

    DEALING WITH MODERN PAGANISM
    http://holyleaven.org/
    [quote]Among many today, pre-marital sex is considered normal with nearly 70% of young men and women having sex prior to 20 years of age. We hand out condoms in schools, show it as normal on TV, and look at waiting until you’re married as being unrealistic and ridiculous. Couples live together without being married and I find more and more of them who don’t consider it wrong or immoral. They actually don’t think anything about it. We have lost the knowledge of the right ways of God. In Bible times it was unimaginable that a young woman would not be a virgin when she married. In fact, the word used to describe an unmarried woman was “virgin.” They didn’t have two separate words because the two were synonymous. Look how far we have drifted from the Biblical way of thinking!

    Here’s another one. We abort babies by the thousands and many believe it is perfectly normal. It is the right of a woman to abort her baby. We use instruments to extract the fetus from the mother’s womb and then discard it as we would a piece of trash. Yet, if an Amazonian tribe did that while wearing their grass skirts and bones in their noses, we would condemn them as pagans. All you have to do is practice it in the U.S. or Europe, in doctor’s scrubs and in a sterile environment and it all changes. What blindness! Then again, pagans don’t realize they’re pagans. They “profess themselves to be wise.”
    Homosexuals and lesbians now marry legally and are ordained as ministers of Jesus Christ and yet this all seems perfectly normal to the majority of our society.
    We have lost the memory of the abomination. How would the ancient Christian fathers have viewed this? How would our great grandparents have viewed this? We are smarter than them. They were ignorant but we are enlightened. The truth is, people have become reprobate, desensitized to conviction.
    [/quote]

    Have we fallen to the bottom of a well while thinking we’ve risen to the top of the mountain?

  2. I am challenged by your website. I find that this is a great sway from what we are called to do as believers; bring others to Christ.

    While I understand that your call is to those who are already in the faith, you do not promote what I believe is our call by Christ
    a. Do not Judge
    b. Love

    I read a book recently by an ex-gay person that challenged the larger Christian mainstreams approach to dealing with Gay people. As someone who was struggling with not wanting to be gay, he found he could not go to his church for any help. He could not go to anyone, because unlike professing you were an addict, etc… His confession distanced him from those who were supposed to help him.

    So he wrote a book: “Loving Homosexuals as Christ would” (I am not sure if this is the exact title) But the point of the book was instead of beating up this person, we should love them. And in loving them, show them Christ.

    I would like to hear an acknowledgement of that approach on your site. We should not be looking at the speck in our brother’s eye while ignoring the plank in our own eye. Salvation is simple: belief in the birth, death and resurrection of Christ. No more, no less.

    Finally, our job is to live out the purpose of Christ in the earth. We have to be like Jonah and preach the Gospel; even to those who we believe are false prophets and let God do the purging and cleansing. Not wait for them to get it right then…. Not us. Let God be God.

    I said that was final, but I thought of one more thing. We are all called to serve one another. We do not need to create reasons for people to live out their judgments within the body of Christ. We are warned not to do that.

    Be careful as you live out this call to watching Gay Christians that you are not giving over to the greater sin of focusing outwardly instead of focusing within.

  3. Thank you Pastor DL for your post. I’m glad that you said that you are not about giving false infomation about people, places, and things. I thought at one point that some statements on here were very close to slander. Keep speaking the truth in love.

  4. Birthday on 9.11… that is somewhat of a bummer. But alas, not as bad as mine 5.22. That’s right, if Schwarzenegger signs AB2567, May 22 will be Harvey Milk Day (Gay Day) in all public California schools.

  5. Deneen, could you please give specific examples by what you are saying that Pastor DL is guilty of doing? (Lack of love and judging). You are making some strong accusations about him but you need to give examples along with your judgement of him.

    chadabshier, that AB 2567 has most Californians in a phone call frenzy. If any of GCMWatches readers are Californian and haven’t bugged Gov. Scharz…yet, please call this number:
    1 916-445-2841
    If you call, these are the prompts.
    Press 1 for English
    Press 2 for Legislation
    Press 1 for AB 2567
    Press 2 for NO!

    I thought this was an email hoax when I received it, but I called those numbers (after 5 tries, line very busy!) and it was exactly as listed here on email.

    So please call and let the ‘Governator’ know what we think about that piece of legislature!

  6. chadabshier, the 9.11 thing passed my mind too for the last few years, and my thinking was that at least it wasn’t also my (and my brother who shares the date wme) date of death.

  7. Deneen Robinson, apparently you’re “challenge” with this website and others smiliar to it is the fact that it actually ministers (corrects and warns, as well as encourage) the targeted demographic. To answer your “inquiry” regarding not judging and “love,” entire chapters throughout scripture DOES rightfully “judge” using God’s Word to help communicate His standards of conduct i.e. “live out the purpose of Christ in the earth.” The entire chapter of 1 Corinthians 5 is an excellent start. It does well in illustrating how the church (the “saints”) should police itself. Righteous judgment starts at “home,” and as such, for those proclaiming the name of Christ are subject to correction in the face of sin.

    Pastor Foster, via this website, is following biblical protocol to warn those caught in the sin of homosexuality. The entire moniker of “Gay Christian” is a misnomer, and totally flies in the faces of the scriptures that speak prohibitively against same sex contact (Leviticus 18:22, Leviticus 20:13). The following link does very well to address the convoluted and very incorrect take on attempting to justify sin by love and “not judging” http://www.independentconservative.com/2008/09/23/clay_aiken_baby_and_homosexual/

    The entire purpose of salvation is to ELIMINATE the sins and likeness of the old, carnal life (unsaved, unregenerate) and put on the “new man” (saved, sanctified, renewed in the image of Christ). The book you have referenced and by extension, your post, seeks to side-step the entire issue of repentance from homosexuality and all of its related behaviors, thoughts and justifications. This is not an issue of “hate the sin/love the sinner.” It is about RIGHTLY discerning God’s Word concerning homosexuality AND THEN turning away from it, not assuaging audiences into believing that being a homosexual is no different than being part of a racial demographic.

    Understand that although my references were from the OT, Christ’s crucifixion put to bed the practice of atonement by blood and crop sacrifice, it did NOT nullify His expectations of holy and righteous conduct. Homosexuality is not an identity. It is a sin that must be confronted for what it is, ensuring that the person is being loved enough to keep from being sent to hell.

  8. Dear brother in Christ,

    Thank you for this post!
    It certainly will clarify your position with bloggers and does present the challenge that GCM Watch is all about.
    I am still an avid reader of your blog and contending for the Faith!
    God bless you!
    Many regards in Him who is Truth!

    Stephen

  9. N’Catina thank you for clarifying what Pastor Foster is trying to do here. I think this new “love” movement is watering down the scripture’s true definition of love. Excellent post and I will be reading Corinthians again tonight!

    God Bless You

  10. Hello, beckrl:

    Having read your comment, Dealing with Modern Paganism,
    reminded me of something a teaching elder said to me years ago:
    “we have already been flushed; we just don’t realize that we are
    swirling around and down through the toilet bowl.”

    Peter.

  11. A question was asked and I want to present it to you – Since there is a large infiltration of gay people within the church; i.e. choir directors, deacons, ministers, evangelists, SS Teachers, pastors – how do we escape them? C’mon they are everywhere.

    Do we stop listening to gospel music because the artist is gay? Do we move membership to another church because the choir director is gay? Do we stay out of church because the pastor takes the “let God judge” approach?

    I invite your response to this. I know Pastor Foster will respond when he returns.

  12. Eld. Carl, I extracted myself from the church entirely about seven months ago today for reasons other than tolerance for homosexuality. Actually, I credit my former pastor for taking the hard stance against such mess despite being otherwise caught up in the whole WOF doctrine or “name it/claim it.”

    Here are some scriptures that would address your questions regarding whether to stay in an instution (hard for me to call it a church) that gives a pass to homosexuality: Revelation 18: 3 – 5, 1 Corinthians 5 (ENTIRE CHAPTER) and Matthew 5: 27 – 30. These scriptures speak about disassociating from those in the body actively involved in sexual sin (which includes homosexuality), identifying the sin and doing biblical policing to correct the problem and outlining the consequences if it is not corrected. This is the protocol to be followed regarding ANY blatant, unrepentant sins in the institutionalized church not just those specifically directed to homosexual practices.

    Because of the apostate state of the church, IMO, it is up to the individuals to seek out sound biblical instruction (including the web, with the guidance of the Holy Sprit). I am reviewing a set of videos now by Dr. Walter Martin regarding the New Age movement and the occult. I have seen discussions of New Age “philisophies” tied into the advancing of the homosexual movement and, from what I have seen so far from this gentleman, has been very accurate in speaking of how such permissive behaviors have been allowed a stake in the church in the first place.

  13. Elder Carl, this is my take on it….and your questions.

    I dont think the answer is to escape from them but rather confront them. To me escaping allows them to have control in a place they should not have control. I’ll never forget when I was a teen, I remember a message Bishop Samuel Green preached at our meeting: “Dont let goats and hypocrites take your place in the church.” So its important that we hold our own and give no place to those who are spouting false gay christian doctrine.

    Thats one side. The other side it seems like NCantina addressed is when it is institutionalized when mainly comes from the complicit approval of leadership.
    In that case removing yourself is the best thing to do.

    Re gospel music. I say walk in the light as you come into the light. Theres a difference in a person living a sinful life in secret and singing gospel music as opposed to a person who is signing gospel music AND openly pushing false doctrine (Yvette Flunder et al). To me it would guide me in how I respond to their music before I knew and after I knew.

    More later.

  14. I want to apologize ahead of time that this is sort of unrelated to this specific post – I wanted to post a message/comment and this happened to be the latest post.

    First of all, thanks for posting your articles. I find myself coming back to this site every now and again. I myself am a Christian, I also happen to be of the homosexual orientation. I have struggled with feelings of anger and isolation in attempts to deal with my sexual orientation in addition to my faith. I gather from your blog that you have in the past have struggled with this issue as well. Perhaps you may often feel anger, hurt, pain, disappointment from this struggle. Whatever the case, I just felt compelled to write and say that God loves you, as I know He loves me, and all of us. I have started to realize that more pain and hurt has come from religions, Christianity, people of “faith” in their condemnation against others if there is a genuine lack love. We, myself included, point fingers of blame, so quick to judge, turning our hearts so hardened. We quickly point to verses in the Bible which condemn particular sins, particular people, etc. It seems in doing this we really only hurt our own spiritual development. We forget the true message of Christ. You mention in previous posts that Gay Christians often do not quote scripture, but rather words of men and reasoning. I just wanted to paste a verses about love, and a child-like understanding of the heart of the gospel.

    Once I finally stopped hating myself and beating myself up over my homosexual tendencies – I was able to finally start loving myself and in turn loving others and above all – God. I feel like this has been an enlightening experience that I wanted to share with you. I pray that the peace of Christ be with all of us. Anyway, God bless, and thanks for taking the time to read this post. (Apologies again if it is out of context to the actual posting).

    Cheers,
    Emily

    The way to eternal life is simply through the practice of love. (Luke 10:25-28)

    Everyone who loves is born of the Spirit and knows God. (1 John 4:7)

    Whoever does not love does not know God because God is love. (1 John 4:8)

    Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him. (1 John 4:16)

    Anyone who does not love his brother, whom he has seen, cannot love God, whom he has not seen. (1 John 4:19-21)

    We know that we have passed from death to life, because we love our brothers. Anyone who does not love remains in death. (1 John 3:14)

    Faith implies the possibility of doubt. Knowledge implies certainty; but love surpasses both of them. (Eph 3:19)

    The only thing that counts is faith expressing itself through love. (Gal. 5:6)

    But the greatest of these is love. (1 Cor. 13:13)

    If you have the gift of prophecy, can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, have the faith that moves mountains, speak in the tongues of humans and of angels, give all you possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, you gain nothing. (1 Cor. 13:1-3)

    Love is God. Love does not keep a record of wrongs. (1 Cor. 13:5)

    Love removes a multitude of sins. (1 Peter 4:8)

    Love is the fulfillment of God’s law. (Rom. 13:10)

    Love is the commandment of God. (John 15:12)

    Love holds all things together because God is love. (Col. 1:7)

    Love is patient, kind, doesn’t envy, doesn’t boast, is not proud, is not rude, is not self-seeking, is not easily angered, does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth, always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres, and never fails. (1 Cor: 13:4-8)

    God shows no partiality, but in every nation anyone who fears God and does what is right is acceptable to God. (Acts 10:34-35)

  15. All those verses are GREAT! And I agree that as Christians we need to love our brothers and sisters. But… do you know what love is (according to God)? Do you know how to show love to God?

    Jesus replied, “If anyone loves me, he will obey my teaching. My Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him. [John 14:23]

    To love God is to obey God. To love others, is to encourage them to love God, thus encouraging them to obey God.

Comments are closed.