Remembering our brother in persecution

Since March of 2008, we have seen this coming. Please remember our brother Julio Severo in your prayers. Along with his pregnant wife and child he has been forced to leave Brazil to an undisclosed location after federal prosecutors launched a hunt for him. His crime?: homophobia.

In an open letter on his blog, he explains why he had to flee Brazil his home. The puppet government under President Lulu is under the spell of homosexual activists who are pressing criminal charges against Christians who speak out against homosexuality. Julio has largely led that charge through his blog appropriately titled Last Days Watchman.

Julio has documented first hand Brazil’s plunge into darkness led by homosexual activists and they hate him for speaking out against them. GCM Watch certainly salutes him in exile as a hero of the faith. May we all be empowered with courage when like persecutions arise against us. Also, please help to spread the word of this persecution in Brazil. Im no prophet, but our time is coming.

Julio is also in need of assistance, but I will update how you can help once I get that information from him.

You should also read:

19 thoughts on “Remembering our brother in persecution

  1. I agree the persecution that Brother Julio and his family have faced in Brazil is shameful. My prayer is that God will use the persecution they’ve faced to draw them closer to Him.

    We should also keep in mind that the opposite situation exists in Uganda. Gay men and lesbians are being hunted by the government, persecuted and hounded into prison just because they are homosexual.

    Both Julio’s situation and the situation faced by gays and lesbians in Uganda are shameful.

    Both activities of persecution must be condemned.

    Your brother in Christ,

    Rick Brentlinger
    GayChristian101.com

  2. Rick, I agree with you. No gay person should be hunted like an animal because they engage in homosexuality. The Ugandan government is wrong.

    I pray that those in gays and lesbians in Uganda will turn to Jesus Christ, repent of their sins, be converted in their hearts. Not so they will escape persecution but because God desires that none should perish in their sins.

  3. That’s right Neil…like the Bble says, we should be stoning all of those evil gays. I imagine you’re a fine “christian”. Do you want to pick up the first rock?

    GCMW: John, neither Neil, myself or anybody else on this site since it started two years ago has ever said, implied or agreed that gays should be killed. That solves nothing. Try to be a bit more mature and less emotive.

  4. Rick,
    You are not “my” brother in Christ, nor does Christ know you simply because “we” may agree on the utter tragedies that surround us in this world. You Sir are a false convert, and God’s enemy – you codemn yourself for you worship lies and encourage others to do the same.

    John – Neil did pick up a “rock” and so would I – the “rock” of God’s word = Truth! We are commanded to proclaim it. Why won’t you, Rick and others, repent and believe?

  5. Mark-

    I bear you no ill-will yet would like to point out that your opinion about my salvation is factually incorrect.

    “My hope is built on nothing less than
    Jesus’ blood and righteousness.”

    The fact that we disagree on the interpretation of scriptures which are alleged to condemn homosexuality has no bearing on the state of my eternal soul.

    I am a washed in the blood, eternally secure son of God through faith in Jesus Christ.

    Whether you like the idea or not, I and many other gay and lesbian Christians will be in heaven with you.

    We are part of the body of Christ, placed there by the baptism of the Holy Spirit (1 Cor 12:13) when we received the gift of God which is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.

    As you are no doubt aware, we are already “seated together in heavenly places in Christ Jesus,” Ephesians 2:6

    Is it possible that I as a gay Christian display more grace toward those who disagree with me than you have exhibited?

    Your brother in Christ,

    Rick Brentlinger

    GCMW: To be honest the “display of grace” proves nothing about one’s salvation. Atheists can show “grace” towards someone they disagree with. And getting into heaven (or should we say the kingdom of God) is restricted to those who no longer in their past sins. That’s per 1 Cor 6 and would in your present state, exclude you and other gay christians.

  6. Glad to have found your blog. I pray the Lord continues to bless your work, and give you the boldness and confidence to speak the truth.

  7. Thank you Pastor Foster.

    Rick,
    What you fail to turn from, most likley because you “feel” it just must not be so – is God’s grace is given and depends upon those being “OK” with their utter rebellion to His word, its clarity, a flesh driven wisdom, and a circus like interpretation of scripture that “makes” YOU more forgiving than others.

    You say The fact that we disagree on the interpretation of scriptures which are alleged to condemn homosexuality has no bearing on the state of my eternal soul.

    Then you would also agree by your own statement – the fact I am having sexual relations with my brother/sister/mother/father et.al, killing, lieing, stealing, and I worship mother earth – has no bearing on the state of my eternal soul. That’s what I call wishful thinking ( an outright LIE) – the exact kind of wishful thinking Adam had when he said to God – Eve made me do it.

    You are not my brother sir – you need to repent and believe and stop making flesh driven excuses and encouraging others in your death path to hell. You prey on those who are vunerable with lofty words and your self proclaimed scripture study – and that makes me troubled enough to “hate” you with the same hate God has for those who prey on children – utter evil.

    I will indeed praise God in heaven that all people, with or without SSA have turned to Him in mercy and grace. They are my brothers and sisters; you are currently a cancer to the soul, for you proclaim another gospel! Repent now sir, He is returning, no longer with healing, but for utter judgement. I pray you are with me.

  8. I will pray for this dear brother.

    I would advise all American churches to change their charter to include their biblical view of homosexuality and marriage to avoid a similar thing happening here in the US based on a political agenda. I believe it is going to happen here VERY shortly; though I pray not. It is already in the wind. We will not escape persecution from a similar demon here.

  9. You, sir, are a lunatic and a cancer to social progress.

    GCMW: Didnt you say you were finished with this site? I took that to mean you werent coming back. I guess I was wrong.

  10. I wanted to, but it’s hard for me to ignore this kind of mind-numbing ignorance.

    GCMW: LOL, okay if you say so. Take your time and straighten all of us ignorant people out at your leisure.

  11. Mark-

    As a Bible believing Christian, I am careful to obey Colossians 4:6, which says:

    “Everything you say should be kind and well thought out so that you know how to answer everyone.”

    Just for the record, I believe it is sinful to rebel against the word of God. I believe the wisdom of men is futile and insignificant compared to God’s wisdom. And I believe Jesus Christ is the only way of salvation, all of grace and not of works.

    You wrote:

    “…the fact I am having sexual relations with my brother/sister/mother/father et.al, killing, lieing, stealing, and I worship mother earth…”

    It might interest you to know that Abraham spent most of his adult life in an “incestuous,” happy, God-blessed marriage partnership with his sister, Sarah.

    God blessed their marriage and even intervened to help them have a son, Isaac. That marriage relationship was later forbidden under the Law but was not forbidden 400 years earlier before the Law was given.

    I wonder if you have ever considered what you write about gay people and then asked yourself this question.

    If I was a lost man, would I listen to Brother Mark’s words and say,

    “I need what that man has!”

    Your angry libel against me, that I proclaim another gospel, can easily be disproved by examining the gospel I preach.

    Mark wrote:

    “You prey on those who are vunerable with lofty words and your self proclaimed scripture study – and that makes me troubled enough to “hate” you…

    The Christian response to your angry accusation is found in the Bible.

    “Whosoever hateth his brother is a murderer: and ye know that no murderer hath eternal life abiding in him.” – 1 John 3:15

    In Christ Yours,
    Rick Brentlinger

  12. Rick,
    Please forgive my ignorance. I now realize the texts of scripture owe you a great deal of gratitude – for you have shown us how recorded historical accounts, also equal God’s approval. How I missed that I don’t know.

    You are correct – Jonathan and David shared a sexual realtionship, again how I missed that, I don’t know.

    You are correct – Ruth and Naomi also “most likey” shared a close sexual bond, how I missed that I don’t know.

    You are correct – Marriage is about equal rights, not about any God ordained union for life betwen a man and woman, how I missed that, I don’t know.

    You are correct, the Centurion was gay, and he did indeed “Come Out To Jesus”. How I missed that I don’t know.

    We should all thank your Holy God for Biblical scholars like yourself – otherwise we might just miss the clear and plain context and meaning of God’s “muddy” unclear word.

  13. You, sir, are a lunatic and a cancer to social progress.</I.

    Famous last words of Nero before he cut off the head of Paul, perhaps?

Comments are closed.