Jesus as a “boyfriend”?

Can Jesus be a female’s “boo” or “boyfriend”?  Keirra Sheard thinks so.

That’s the notion she puts out in her song “Boyfriend” [listen to audio]sheard

LYRICS

Ladies!
Let me hear you say..
B-o-y-f-r-i-e-n-d
Talkin’ to my girl the other day.
She told me how she’s tired of dealin’ with all his games.
She went through his phone. And found that somethin’s wrong.
Like unknown names and numbers and pictures all in his phone.
I said: “Is that where you’re supposed to be?”
Cause’ in you heart there’s no peace. (Does he make you complete?)
Alot of emptyness inside. “Have you ever gave God a chance?”
(Jesus cain’t be my boyfriend!) To be your man…
Don’t miss out cause I didn’t.

He’s my boyfriend.
My bestfriend.
My boo.
He is(My everything) [complete lyrics]

In an interview with Andrew Greer, Sheard explained her meaning behind the song

I’ve noticed that a lot of us church girls… We can connect ourselves to the top bozos in the state. I find myself getting hurt over and over again, and it’s because I was out of God’s will. This song is saying, “Be patient and allow God into your life because you won’t know what love is until you let God in”—and that’s true love. I allowed God to reveal Himself to me in a way that I never thought He could have. Right now, I’m single, but I find myself being able to be single and not feel lonely. We need friends and associates like that. But I don’t need no man!”

In an interview with Blacknews.com she says about the song:

“I was talking with my cousin and one of my friends, both of whom were going through some things with their boyfriends,” explained Kierra. “I was sharing with them that they didn’t have to keep putting themselves in the same situation, and by doing so, allowing them to get hurt. We have to give ourselves to God…we can’t love another person if we don’t love ourselves. Just because you are single, doesn’t mean you’re alone — it’s the time to get to know God better. Jesus is my boyfriend because He knows me inside and out.”

Trying to understand this. Is this sexy-fying Jesus or more like objectifying Jesus? Although she calls Jesus a “savior and redeemer”, its at the end and just one line. For those far removed from the shallow culture of today’s generation boo has a couple of definitions, but in the context of the song, Sheard uses it as a parallel to the girl she is talking to with boyfriend problems.

Real Christianity deals with other false biblical lyrics by gospel artists. Check out the post.

44 thoughts on “Jesus as a “boyfriend”?

  1. Interesting concept for a “Gospel” song, I would say. I believe if those same words were in a conversation or chat, it would seem she’s only being slightly facetious, but at the same time, serious. There’s a scripture in Isaiah 54:5 which says, “your maker is your husband,” so while it may sound fleshly, may risk presenting Christ in a “carnal-sounding” manner, I understand the gist of where the song is coming from. I think some will “get it;” of course, many won’t, so in that case, perhaps we should leave nothing left to guess or open for interpretation. Thanks for your blog!

  2. I think it’s a wonderful concept! Thanks for the post….I’ve gotta get that CD!!

  3. Your image of God will dictate how you relate to God. If man is making God out to be someone who is your friend, or boyfriend–then that’s going to say a lot about how they will walk before God.

    I find that this artist is not the first–many of the gospel artists do this. They even say, that it is okay to flip secular songs, and change the word “baby” or whoever to “God’s” name–because it’s all about a love relationship.

    But it’s not the same…He may be your husband as the scripture refers to. But he is farmost, our Judge. We will stand before him one day. This fact of his being our judge is just sobering, thinking about it even now. And, he is our father–which means he is not going to just turn his head when we are sinning, like some friends do…

    I just think some of the one-dimensionalizing of God that some gospel singers do, does more harm than good. I think they really need to be careful here…you don’t want to trivialize God.

  4. I think sometimes, we have to look at how youngsters think and relate. While boo may seem to be demeaning in our eyes, when a 17 year old says that’s my boo, it is very endearing to her, its someone who she has an extreme affection for and who she believes feels the same way about her.

    I just she is trying to get the attention of young women by using what they can relate to.

    An opinion but listening to Kierra Sheard speak, she really seems to have matured and wants Christ to be the center of he Joy. She deserves a lot of credit for that!

  5. Paul is there a point where the youth go too far with their pop culture characterizations of Christ? Is there a point where he becomes too common, thus not LORD?

    Maybe my broader question is reaching people by “what they relate to” sound evangelism?

    Making someone feel good or make better boyfriend choices is not the aim of the gospel. I think that why so called gospel music is so problematic.

  6. While I was reading the lyrics, it feels wrong. Using the terms she uses seems to erase the spirituality of Jesus Christ. The term boyfriend and boo refer to someone who you are interested in having a romantic relationship with; not your Savior and Lord. I agree with allowing Jesus to be your husband while you are single, but I think this is about context. What is the role of a husband; to lead or be the head of his wife/family and to be responsible for their spiritual growth; the way Jesus will lead and guide you until you have that in your own husband. It has nothing to do with romanticism. I feel this is another example of using the world to reach the world. The terms she uses just don’t apply. I think it would have been more effective to quote scripture like GNP22 and state let Him be your husband. The term can be identified in scripture (sound doctrine) and gives the explanation of the role of the husband. Boyfriend and Boo never come to mind to me (also single) when I think about Jesus Christ. It’s actually a little creepy…just my opinion.

  7. You’re really reaching for something that’s just not there in this one DL.

    I think there is a point where the youth go too far with the pop culture when the name Jesus isn’t even mentioned…But if they use a different style and a different approach to reach other generations, then I applaud them for it.

    My question for you is….how many times does a song have to reference Jesus as “savior and redeemer” for it to be acceptable? and considered gospel?

    Because you did point out that she only said it at the end and just one line.

  8. What we reach people with is what we reach them to. Give then an entertainment-oriented, worldly message and that is all they will know. I’d prefer to give them the raw truth as Jesus, Paul, Peter, John did.

  9. Key words…”I’d prefer to give them raw truth….”

    That’s just it. Your preference. However, God’s people come with various interests, and styles so, other people (in particular) younger people may prefer another style. There’s nothing wrong with that.

    It’s interesting to me that you mentioned the phrase “worldy-message”, but I’m not sure what makes something worldy…Just thought I’d ask.

    Please define worldly.

    Ki Ki Sheard’s song isn’t worldly at all…

  10. Natasha, thats it. Thanks,thats what I was seeing. There is a conflict. Her words in the interview read spiritual. But her words in the song read romantic.

    I know Jesus is the lover of my soul, but to parallel it to human romanticism is a bit weird.

  11. There could be and I dont disagree that we can become too familiar with God but in this instance I think her heart is in the right place and I commend her for that. Sometimes we do the right thing the wrong way but I have also seen many do the right thing with the wrong attitude.

    I believe we should question things but we cannot just judge barely on appearance but look at the heart of the matter, in other words what is she trying to say?
    I get this, There is someone who loves you and will nevetr break your heart. He will not cheat on you or curse you out but always be there. So you can Trust God with your heart and wait for the right person to come along.

  12. Natasha, you say Romantic? great word.

    Dont you want to be romanced by Jesus? afterall we are His bride.

    Song of Solomon gives you the heart of God towards the church and I have read nothing more romantic than that.

    Romantic
    -characterized by a preoccupation with love or by the idealizing of love or one’s beloved.
    -displaying or expressing love or strong affection.
    -ardent; passionate; fervent.

    Is this not how God feels toward us.

    I understand your point but I say by using this word you have made the point of what she is trying to say, though we dont like the terms.

  13. Paul, God didnt send Jesus to us for us to romanticize him or be romanticized by him. Matt 1:21 God created humans —man and woman— for that. The husband analogy is in context innapropriate for a single person, God is the “husband” of corporate Isreal and the corporate church is the bride of Christ.

    I dont want this to be a hit on single people, but God said that man should not be alone (romantically,emotionally and relationally) and therefore created a woman. Then he called it good. The answer to the issues that Kierra Sheard was attempting to address in the song have already been given a divine solution. The answer is not “I dont need a man!” cause men are “bozos”.

    Again, like you I get what she is trying to say but perhaps that is the danger of acquiesing to pop culture, slang and romantic innuendo to “reach” people through a song. It is a flawed evangelism tool, if one at all.

  14. I dont agree Glenn. You never know what God can use to touch a persons heart and I have met many worldy Christians who love the hymns. I have been in the Church and the ones who turned me away and didnt want their daughters to talk to me where the bible toting, hymn singing christians while the youth loved and accepted me, while yes they were more “worldy”.

    The Apostle Paul, used poems “in Him, we live and move and have our very being” – not Christian literaure.

    He used the “Unkown God” alter as a steppin stone to witness the name of Jesus.

    Maybe I am wrong but let us be careful and not be judgmental of Gods children.

  15. The answer to the issues that Kierra Sheard was attempting to address in the song have already been given a divine solution. The answer is not “I dont need a man!” cause men are “bozos”.

    Totally agree, but what I get from this song is younsters looking for love in all the wrong places, when they could come to Christ and he would give them a person suitable for them when they are ready. We have youth today that think being heartbroken and then rebounding is just how it is, and I am talking about from Jr. High or maybe even younger. I just get that she is trying to help lost and confused young ladies find Christ the lover of their soul.

    I don’t fully agree but I respect and understand your point of view.

    I dont agree whatsoever that there Jesus didnt come to romanticize us as individuals, unless you can show me a scripture reference?

    Male and female become one flesh as we and God become one spirit – I Cor 6:17. I am not saying that this is all there is to it but from my understanding and experience,

    God loves intimacy, unless that is different?

  16. Personally, I like Kierra Sheard and even the song “My Boyfriend” (just thought I’d mention this upfront).

    I look at Christian music like this – some of it is “gospel” and most of it is “inspirational”. Inspirational music is Christian, but it’s more about entertainment than affirming doctrinal truths. Not that inspirational music is against the word, but 90% of inspirational music isn’t taking the listener through the gospel. Inspirational music is something to listen to while riding around in the car or going to the gym. Most saints aren’t going to play inspirational music during prayer times, or during a worship service (maybe before or after the service).

    Just my $0.02.

  17. just went through the lyrics and noticed the word Jesus was mentioned only twice…this song sounds like the perfect candidate for BET and secular radioplay….

    this song sounds like more of a marketing ploy

    I agree with Jon Daniels that much of christian music is inspirational and entertainment and not gospel. I just wish some of the gospel artists would be honest about that and not miscategorize their music.

  18. Interesting. Gospel music has caught up to CCM with the “Jesus is my Boyfriend” songs. Songs like “You’re All I Want” “I’m so in Love with You” and “This is the Air I Breathe” –all popular worship songs are troublesome because if you can substitue the name of Jesus for your b/f or your husband and it does not affect the nature of the song, that is a problem. I have a question. How do men feel singing songs that make Jesus out to be a “boo” or a “boyfriend”? Does it dawn on these singers/songwriters that they can be alienating the other sex? As a women I find it very awkward. I would think a lot of men would just be put off by this.

  19. We have to be careful in all things how we proclaim and represent Christ. I don’t believe music is a tool for evangelism, but should be to worship God and encourage the body of Christ. If you believe it is an evangelism tool, please find me a scripture. I haven’t found one, and I don’t believe you will either.

    We are to edify each other spiritually, so if your music takes on a secular feel or a worldly tone, then you have lost the essence of what God ordained music for. We have in the scripture examples of how Paul became all things to all people, but not in music. That’s the catch. He spoke the gospel through understanding the people, but did not use his talent for that. That was the Holy Ghost.

    If you appeal to the flesh, you cannot simultaneously appeal to the spirit. The Bible tells us the two war against each other. So they are only in “agreement” when one controls. As believers, that should only be spiritual dominance, which happens when we crucify the flesh/deny ourselves.

    Rightly stated, this music would never be appropriate for worship or service, so why have it at all? My worship goes beyond the church walls; trying to mix flesh and God just doesn’t work. That’s why it’s so difficult now to distinguish the church from the world. People say what’s wrong with doing this, or other debateable things outside music. But my question is simply what’s right about it? Is it giving God glory or self? It can’t do both.

  20. Jesus cannot be your boo. He is our Saviour, our Redeemer. God is our Father. Your boo is someone you go out with, have dinner with, go to movies with; that sort of thing your relationship with your boo is different than your relation with God and his son. Yes Jesus is the husbandman, but he is the husbandman to man and woman. So, he can’t be a woman’s boo, cause if he can then he can be a man’s boo too. We need to stop trying to make things so easy for young people by using secular concepts in God’s music, cause it’s just destructive and will make young people start to disrespect God and his son. I say NO BOO!!!!!!

  21. I don’t know. I think we doth protest too much on this one. Revelations 3 does tell us, “Behold I stand at the door and knock, If any man will answer, I will come in and dine with him.” There is a fellowship and communion aspect that we miss in the body of Christ, that Jesus wants to have with us. God is our Daddy. Jesus is our Big Brother! But this is just my opinion.

  22. gw, everyone has a point. Dont want to over analyze, but sometimes we excuse things which down the line are not good for us.

    Somebody made the point regarding gender.
    Do men see Jesus as a “boo” or a “boyfriend”? What if a man sung that song…would it be no big deal?

    I thought there was no male or female in Christ. Do these songs benefit the body or dividing us along gender lines? You mentioned fellowship and communion, but I dont see myself grooving, moving or singing this song. God is a daddy (abba) to all, and Jesus is a brother to all, but is Jesus a “boo” to all?

  23. Jesus is our redeemer. Whatever you do and say in the world (the flesh) leave it there. But when it comes to salvation and things of the spirit, Jesus is God all by himself. In the Bible God was never addressed as “boyfriend” or my “boo”

    He is “living waters “Alpha and Omega” “The Prince of Peace” “the Bright and Morning Star” I could go on

  24. Romanticism in Christian hymnody has been around for over a century and much of the “worship” songs since the 1970’s has sounded like “Jesus is my boyfriend” music.

    Compare the Psalms with what the average church is singing and you will be shocked. When was the last time you heard an imprecatory psalm sung in church? A lamentation? So much of it is “happy, happy, joy, joy” without any real reverence for God and His holiness.

    Rik

  25. Paul said:

    Dont you want to be romanced by Jesus?

    No, Paul I don’t. I want to be saved, looked after, encouraged, uplifted, joyful, etc (you get my point). Romance is probably the only request I do not have for Him.

    You used the following definitions:

    Romantic
    -characterized by a preoccupation with love or by the idealizing of love or one’s beloved.

    I don’t believe Jesus is preoccupied with loving us. I believe His identity is love of which all other love is compared. The love, however, of a boyfriend or boo is quite clear. A boyfriend nor boo is required to love you the way Jesus requires a husbandman to which is the way He love us.

    -displaying or expressing love or strong affection.
    -ardent; passionate; fervent

    These definitions are so general. You can use these arguments with any two-person relationship that displays or expresses love. Mother and child, best friends, father and son. But we have clear statements about how Jesus loves us. I think again this is about context. The passion I have for Jesus is not the same passion I’ve had about a boyfriend or boo. I’m not saying you nor the artist are wrong in your interpretation but as good as those definitions sound it’s just not sticking to me as an appopriate term to describe the Savior. All reverence is necessary. I believe He should be, if nothing else, the one subject matter we always use complete reverence. Let’s just not go there…it’s too muddy and if there is a possibility at all that it could be viewed as unfavorable to Him, why use it at all. It’s an instant divider because…drum rolls please…THOSE TERMS COME FROM THE WORLD. The world and the truth of Jesus Christ DO NOT MIX no matter how many times you try the recipe. It will always cause separation! Always! I just don’t get why we (the church) keep trying to go there. Baffling.

    Lastly:
    Paul said:
    I understand your point but I say by using this word you have made the point of what she is trying to say, though we dont like the terms.

    Paul, I believe this to be the danger. We are not living int he type of environment where any straddling of the fence (so to speak) will reach people. It’s time out for the world definitons, subjectiveness, and clouding of the Word or His role in our lives. Remember this is someone in the church and is called by the body to be responsible for what she does in His name or on behalf of the church.

  26. The passage from Revelation that you referred to is almost always taken out of context. “Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hear my voice, and open the door, I will come in to him, and will sup with him, and he with me.”
    Christ is addressing the Laodicean church, the lukewarm church. He is standing outside this church, He isn’t a part of it because of its lukewarmness. He is addressing their lukewarm condition with a warning, ‘So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth’, and a call to repentance, ‘As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent’

    As for God being our ‘daddy’, where in scripture to we find such a term? We MUST remember to keep it biblical, and use fear and reverence when referring to a Holy God!
    From Romans 8:15, ‘For ye have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but ye have received the Spirit of adoption, whereby we cry, Abba, Father. ‘ The meaning of ‘Abba’ – father, customary title used of God in prayer. Whenever it occurs in the New Testament it has the Greek interpretation joined to it, that is apparently to be explained by the fact that the Chaldee “ABBA” through frequent use in prayer, gradually acquired the nature of a most sacred proper name, to which the Greek speaking Jews added the name from their own tongue.
    The word ‘Father’ means – ‘God is called the Father…

    a) of the stars, the heavenly luminaries, because he is their creator, upholder, ruler

    b) of all rational and intelligent beings, whether angels or men, because he is their creator, preserver, guardian and protector

    1) of spiritual beings and of all men

    c) of Christians, as those who through Christ have been exalted to a specially close and intimate relationship with God, and who no longer dread him as a stern judge of sinners, but revere him as their reconciled and loving Father

    d) the Father of Jesus Christ, as one whom God has united to himself in the closest bond of love and intimacy, made acquainted with his purposes, appointed to explain and carry out among men the plan of salvation, and made to share also in his own divine nature

    1) by Jesus Christ himself

    2) by the apostles

    ( from blueletterbible.org }

    The Lord Jesus Christ is NEVER referred to as ‘big brother’ in scripture either. When we use ‘earthly terminology’ to describe One who is holy and righteous, we cheapen the reverence due Him. Christ is God, He is Holy, Righteous; He is Lord.
    From Acts 2:38, ‘Therefore let all the house of Israel know assuredly, that God hath made that same Jesus, whom ye have crucified, both Lord and Christ.’
    In this particular passage, Lord comes from the greek word ‘kyrios’ meaning – title given to: God, the Messiah- from the root word kuros (supremacy). ‘Christ’ means ‘anointed, Messiah, Son of God’. He is certainly deserving of more than a flippant title of ‘big brother’.
    The music that is passed off as ‘Christian’ is as despicable as its secular counterpart. When you fully understand our God is Holy -set apart, exalted high above His creation, without sin, too pure to even look upon sin- then you will understand how the flippant, disrespect man-made titles and syrupy lyrics fall short of worthy reverence and respect. Do not lump God in with this world, He is NOTHING like anything we presently know. That is why He is worthy and deserving of proper worship and praise.

    Here are some of the names of God found in the Old Testament…

    El Shaddai (Lord God Almighty)
    El Elyon (The Most High God)
    Adonai (Lord, Master)
    Yahweh (Lord, Jehovah)
    Jehovah Nissi (The Lord My Banner)
    Jehovah-Raah (The Lord My Shepherd)
    Jehovah Rapha (The Lord That Heals)
    Jehovah Shammah (The Lord Is There)
    Jehovah Tsidkenu (The Lord Our Righteousness)
    Jehovah Mekoddishkem (The Lord Who Sanctifies You)
    El Olam (The Everlasting God)
    Elohim (God)
    Qanna (Jealous)
    Jehovah Jireh (The Lord Will Provide)
    Jehovah Shalom (The Lord Is Peace)
    Jehovah Sabaoth (The Lord of Hosts)
    {from http://www.blueletterbible.org/study/misc/name_god.cfm }

    Remember this, ‘Hallowed by Thy Name’.

  27. Paul I cited Mt 1:21 Jesus came to save us from our sins.
    In 1 John 3:8 he came to destroy the works of the devil.

    It seems Kierra is trying to put a square peg in a round hole.

    She’s trying to take a human (failed) romantic situation, perhaps even erotic in overtones and parallel that to a relationship with Christ. Sure you can spiritualize “intimacy” with God, but I have been intimate with other humans (romantically) and there is no comparison to the Love of Christ.

    Id still like to know about the gender issue. Female songs that if a male were to sing them would be automatically viewed as homoerotic.

    Does Keirra have a good desire to help young women? If she’s sincere, yes.

    But she destroys her own works it seems by devaluing Jesus (low christology) rather than lifting UP the savior for the young women to see. So, bad execution.

    I wonder… did she write that song or did some man?

  28. I think the song is being “figurative” when it uses the word “boo.” I believe it is intended with all due respect. It’s like someone saying something like, “My boyfriend is whacked. I’m done with dating (for now anyway); I’ll let JESUS be my “boyfriend,” for he won’t do me wrong…” or whatever. I personally wouldn’t sing those lyrics, but I don’t think any harm is intended. However, there is the question about that word. I was told a long time ago that “men” don’t use that word to refer to another man, but to a woman. I guess it depends on who you ask and where you’re from. It doesn’t matter to me who it refers to; I wouldn’t use it anyway.

  29. I had to get in on this very interesting topic… I, myself, is a songwriter and a minister of the gospel. As a minister, I have to stick strictly to the bible and doctrine of Christ. But, as a songwriter, I’m always attempting to find a creative way to describe my love for Christ or his love for me (take biblical books like Songs of Solomon for instance). So, I can really relate to Miss Sheard’s meanings behind her words. However, we, as songwriters have to be careful not to demoralize our Lord and Savior. We also have to make sure that we are not trying to mingle with the world, by pretending that we are uplifting God, when we really just want to show people how sexy we are. Basically, it comes down to what’s really inside your heart. That’s why I’m glad that God judges my heart, and not man. Because even if you have the purest intentions, there’s always going to be people who are simply going to misjudge you…I said that to say this…I have written a song similar to hers. My purpose was to metaphorically compare Christ to the perfect man. Also, to show that we can’t depend on an earthly relationship to provide the kind of love that we all search for. Christ is everything we need. Unlike Miss Sheard, I didn’t get my inspiration from not receiving love from a man. Actually, I have been married to my soul mate for 15 years, and know that he loves me and would die for me. But even still, there are some things that he can’t give me and some voids that he can’t fill (and vice versa). Oh…But Christ!….He has done it all, and has sacrificed everything for me…Hopefully, this song portrays that… I would like to know how some people interpret what I’m trying to say…Here are the lyrics to a song I’ve written called… ‘The One’…

    I learned not to compromise love,
    or carelessly give away the very part of me that awakens life and brings out the beauty of,
    True intimacy, a relationship so pure and real,
    it leaves an everlasting seal,
    How did a love so righteous occur?
    I opened my eyes and there you were.

    1st Verse:
    Every since the day
    I met you, knew my life was destined to change
    Already started, get butterflies
    Just hearing your name
    Feels unreal, no way a girl could love someone this way

    I overheard some friends
    Saying what they’d do
    To get close to you
    But then, I
    Thought they were crazy
    Til I learned first hand
    And found myself doing all I can
    Just so I will be close to you

    Then I said to myself…Must be

    Chorus:
    The one who said to me
    That I am the one he died for if I believe
    He’s the one, my king, my everything
    The One

    2nd Verse:
    Love of my life
    I get so anxious, but I learned your always on time
    You taught me patience
    Such a gentleman
    You opened all the doors for me
    By taking stripes across a body that’s so heavenly

    You see inside my soul
    Gave me a new name that you and only you know
    And wrote it in your diary
    Keeping tabs on me
    Not afraid of commitment
    Asking me to live with you throughout eternity

    Then I said to myself…Gotta be

    Chorus:
    The one who said to me
    That I am the one he died for if I believe
    He’s the one, my king, my everything
    The One

    Bridge:
    When you touch me
    Intoxicated is how I
    Feel when you touch me
    I tremble all over inside
    When you touch me
    Your spirit becomes one with mine
    And we dance we dance
    You know exactly what I need

    When you touch me
    Now I know how David felt
    When you touch me
    Sometimes I just can’t help myself
    Your Holy Spirit’s got me that’s for sure
    It’s got a hold on me and it won’t let go
    Don’t mind me I just might dance right out of my clothes.
    Cause Lord you are!
    The One, My world, my king,
    Lord you are my everything
    The One
    Searched all my life, and finally found the one for me.

    The End

  30. Trena
    I am wondering about this statement from you, ‘I had to get in on this very interesting topic… I, myself, is a songwriter and a minister of the gospel. As a minister’. Are you saying you preach in the midst of a body of believers? Are you a female?
    As for your lyrics…’Already started, get butterflies
    Just hearing your name
    Feels unreal, no way a girl could love someone this way’-This sounds like a song written to someone’s lover!
    And this – ‘When you touch me
    Intoxicated is how I
    Feel when you touch me
    I tremble all over inside
    When you touch me
    Your spirit becomes one with mine
    And we dance we dance
    You know exactly what I need’
    I am offended by this. It sounds like a sexual experience, which I find horrifying when speaking of the Lord.

    This line, ‘Don’t mind me I just might dance right out of my clothes’ too is a bit offensive. The bible commands us to have reverence for our Holy God, and fear. I don’t see that in your lyrics at all. I see an attempt to portray Christ as a lover, not a Holy God set apart from all creation. Let’s keep in mind this passage from 2 Cor. 5:20,’Now then we are ambassadors for Christ, as though God did beseech you by us: we pray you in Christ’s stead, be ye reconciled to God.’
    I like the prayer of Hannah found in 1 Sam. 2…
    My heart rejoiceth in the LORD, mine horn is exalted in the LORD: my mouth is enlarged over mine enemies; because I rejoice in thy salvation. [There is] none holy as the LORD: for [there is] none beside thee: neither [is there] any rock like our God. Talk no more so exceeding proudly; let [not] arrogancy come out of your mouth: for the LORD [is] a God of knowledge, and by him actions are weighed. The bows of the mighty men [are] broken, and they that stumbled are girded with strength. [They that were] full have hired out themselves for bread; and [they that were] hungry ceased: so that the barren hath born seven; and she that hath many children is waxed feeble. The LORD killeth, and maketh alive: he bringeth down to the grave, and bringeth up. The LORD maketh poor, and maketh rich: he bringeth low, and lifteth up. He raiseth up the poor out of the dust, [and] lifteth up the beggar from the dunghill, to set [them] among princes, and to make them inherit the throne of glory: for the pillars of the earth [are] the LORD’S, and he hath set the world upon them. He will keep the feet of his saints, and the wicked shall be silent in darkness; for by strength shall no man prevail. The adversaries of the LORD shall be broken to pieces; out of heaven shall he thunder upon them: the LORD shall judge the ends of the earth; and he shall give strength unto his king, and exalt the horn of his anointed.’
    Almost anything from Psalms would be equally good.
    Christ is not my lover, or my boyfriend. He is my Lord – Heb. – Yehovah- meaning ‘the proper name of the one true God’

  31. Trena Im sorry I have to agree with Lyn, these lyrics are not good. There is no distinction between a male sex partner and the Lord Jesus. The nature of the words are sensual, not spiritual despite your intent. That’s how I feel.

  32. I am glad that I got a reponse…I really welcome them and is not afraid to hear people’s true opinion…I’m the type of person who takes heed to sound advice. Although, I think you know that my intent is not to offend anyone. I do want to address all of the questions Lyn asked though…As a female minister of the gospel…I preach to both believers and unbelievers…

    As for my lyrics…like I stated before, they are a play on words… getting butterflies at the sound of the name Jesus, is symbolic of how powerful just the name alone is…

    Feels unreal, no way a girl could love someone this way…Paul said he was a slave to the gospel. This describes how you can never really understand how much you are affected by Christ until you realize that there’s no way you can live without Him. It feels unreal to love someone so much that they are the air that you breath.

    Intoxicated is how I feel when you touch me…Describes being drunk in the spirit.

    I tremble all over inside…The word says we are to receive him with fear and trembling.

    When you touch me your spirit becomes one with mine…The word says that if we abide in Him, he will abide in us. We become one with Christ.

    And we dance we dance, You know exactly what I need…Signifies, dancing under the spirit. God knows exactly what we need, He said even the very hairs on our head is numbered.

    Don’t mind me I just might dance right out of my clothes…I mentioned David just before I said this…Surely you’ve heard how David got so caught up in the Holy Ghost that he danced out of his clothes.

    The song is supposed to represent a perfect (not sexual) earthly relationship. All the things we look for in a mate, Christ provides that, and so much more. It’s simply a play on words. I was careful not to conceal the fact that I was talking about Christ, though…like in the chorus when I talk about Him dying for me and Him being my king. Also, the heavenly body that I described was not said because I’m lusting after Jesus (come on now)…I hope to see Him one day, but so far, I’ve only met Him in spirit. All I’m trying to say is that many people who seek relationships with other people usually look on the outer appearance to determine whether that person is worthy or not. But Christ is, literally, a heavenly body, who was beaten and bruised for our iniquities, making him more than worthy of our total dedication to Him.

    I hate to sound like I’m defending something that I asked for opinions about…I’m simply taking this opportunity to clear up any misinterpretaions of the lyrics.

    Unfortunally, when writing a song or poem, I don’t have the space to explain all of this. I try to add as little words as possible to fit them into a pattern or rhyme scheme. Sometimes people get it…and sometimes they don’t.

    However, I don’t expect one song, poem, or painting to display how much I reverence and love and respect my Lord Jesus…I SHOW THAT BY MY LIFESTYLE!…

    Therefore, I truly regret that you were offended, had I any inclination that this was offensive, I would not have posted it. I highly respect the opinion of G. Craig ministries, and I really wanted to know how my words came across. I value Godly counsel and will take all of the comments into consideration the next time I write. Thanks for the input and may God continue to bless all of you.

    Lyn,
    You seem to have a real passion for the word of God…Continue to allow God to use you. We should never be afraid to speak the word of truth…Cause only those who are not living right will be offended at the word. I receive all that you said with love. Thanks.

  33. There is a movement in some churches that is eroticizing praise and worship, and it’s scary. Worship of God is not to be an erotic experience. I am concerned that some people are communing with demons (succubus, lilith,etc), and thinking it’s the Holy Spirit.
    God is not “doing a new thing.” The way the bible tells us to worship Him has not, and will not, change. I personally hate the terms “falling in love with God,” being “in love” with God, etc. This sounds like a carnal mind trying to fellowship with a Holy God. Why don’t we let God deliver us from lust, from sensual desires, and then maybe we can express our pure devotion to Him.
    As for the song above, it reminds me of romance novels that I used to read. Fellowship with God will make you feel convicted, uplifted, clean, awed, truly amazed, but not what that song is implying.

  34. Trena, I wouldnt say I am offended by the lyrics, just that they dont seem to convey relationship with Christ without you having to explain every phrase and intent. Shouldnt it just stand alone? What you say should be said without having to do all that. Maybe the reason needed as explanations for such songs is that they are flawed due to an attempt to recast Christ as a human lover and not the Lord Jesus Christ who loves us.

  35. I’m so glad you weren’t offended…I wanted the song to portray an intimate/personal relationship, but definitely not Sensual. Sometimes, as a writer, we call ourselves getting deep. If we are not careful, we can lose the entire message altogether. What we actually mean, means nothing if the people you are supposed to be ministering to doesn’t understand what you are trying to say.

    It’s good to get a true unbiased respose though. Cause you know family…they gone back you up if you can’t sing, write, preach…whatever! I read a message you wrote on email called ‘Friends’ (i think)…where you talked about people being honest with their friends and loved ones about certain things in their lives. We need more of that!

    Next time I write, I plan to stay focused on exactly what Jesus represented, and not use so many metaphors to humanize Him. Thanks again…and point well taken!

  36. I know I am really late on this subject but here goes my take:

    There is a distinction between sacred music and gospel music. gospel music is an folk music artform and in its origin is a hybrid of jazz, the blues and cultural folk music; black or white. Sacred music (in my opinion) is music that lauds the greatness of GOD, His holiness, His redemptive grace, His love for mankind. This music must be theologically correct and biblically based. To describe GOd as “boo” is a disrespect for who the LORD is. I understand the attempt to draw a paralellon this artist’s part but it is insufficient in its attempt and fundamentally wrong. Gospel music is primarily directed to heares as a testimony of what GOD has done; Sacred or Worship music is directed to the LORD and focuses on who He is.

    Some (perhaps most?) of these songs are written to appeal to the emotions of the listeners and for their marketability in the gospel music industry. The big goal is to crossover. We no longer hold the name of the LORD to be sacred; we plaster His name on bumpers stickers, coffee cups, pens, mints, and all manner of items as an attempt to market to Christians. I think it is a disgrace. Ilove gospel music. I adore worship music that point to the cross, the holiness of GOD and His great love for me. This “mess” (sorry y’all) that is out now is shameful.

  37. Trena:

    I’m so glad you decided to heed the comments and rethink how you use the precious name, characteristics, and love of Jesus Christ. Although I am in complete disagreement of your lyrics, I am thankful that you weighed in here and posted them. Some would have immediately went on the defensive but you kept an open mind which to me suggests you are truly interested in serving and not your own self interests. God Bless you sister.

  38. Camille, you hit the nail on the head, and tore up a couple floorboards! The eroticizing of what is supposed to be worship…….is earthy, sensual, devilish……all you have to do is check out the fruit.

    This is the same type of thinking that progresses to someone actually saying he masturabated with ‘Jesus’ !

    Say what we will, sing what we want, but at the end of the day God is not our beau (not boo- that’s ignorant ebonics) God in not our boyfriend, nor our homie. He’s not Pookie an’ em.
    He’s God, all by Himself. Awesome, Majestic,
    Almighty….come on, encourage the young people to learn some words about the awesome wonder that is God Almighty ………illiteracy is killing out black folks!

    Come on people, let us render honour to whom honour is due. Ms. Sheard couldn’t call President
    Obama her ‘boo’, how much more the Eternal Everlasting All Powerful Creator God who made the heavens and the eath and all the works therein?
    Who gave life and breath to all?

    Heaven and Earth cannot contain him.

    “Could we with ink the ocean fill
    and were the sky of parchment made
    Were every stalk on earth a quill
    And every man a scribe by trade
    To write the love of God above
    would drain the ocean dry
    Nor could the scroll contain the whole
    Though stretched from sky to sky”

    This is a powerful picture of the love of the God who made us, and yet it is pitifully pale in light of His total majesty and glory.

    Thank you Pastor DL for this post, and thanks to Ms. Sheard, for I clearly see where I had lost sight of the awesome God who made me.

  39. I believe the reason why the younger generation are using these words to describe their relationship with GOD is because they don’ t fully understand authority. Can you go to your boss on the job and say “yo man, how you livin”? Better yet could you go before a king any type of way saying any type of thing? Now since JESUS is King of kings and LORD of lords, how can he be boo, homeboy, my man, boyfriend, etc.? This comes because the mundane has affected how holiness is viewed. Holiness has been treated as something common rather than something to revere.
    This goes back to the fear of GOD, and the reverence of his name.

  40. Thats a priceless point there. I reccommend any young person to sit down, turn off the cell phone, ipod, and everything else and read The Holiness of God by RC Sproul. I read it and it is phenomenal. It revolutionized what I understood worship to be. God became GOD again in my mind and in my life. After reading that book, Christ could never be a boo, a boyfriend, homie, et al. NEVER!

  41. I haven’t read all the comments, so forgive me if I say something someone else has already said. I feel like we sometimes forget who our God really is and the reverence that is due Him. Though we are in a personal relationship with Him, He is way above the level of any relationships we have with other people. I couldn’t never refer to Jesus as “boo”. His name is the name above every other. The Word of God says that “the fear of God is the beginning of wisdom”. I think some of us just don’t have the fear of God. He is NEVER on our level. He calls us up to His (level) which is holiness. He has names: “Everlasting Father”, “Bright and Morning Star”, “King of Kings”, “Resurrection and Life”, “Savior and Lord”, “Alpha and Omega”, etc. In the book of Hebrews (Ch 1), even God himself calls Him “God”!

  42. I saw the pic on the site above. How disgusting! BTW not only am I not in favor of referring to Jesus as “boyfriend”, but I’m also not in favor of my 15-year- old daughter (and any other young girl) having a boyfriend! I am rearing my daughter to be the only wife of a God- fearing man; teaching her that marriage is honorable in God’s sight; that she doesn’t belong to herself, but she belongs to God. That is what Ms. Sheard’s lyrics should have been saying.

  43. We profane God by trying to bring him down to our level of existance. God is approachable, but you cannot refer to JESUS CHRIST as if he was someone you saw in the street, like your “boo” or your “homie”. There is a level of respect, honnor and reverance that is due (God) Christ.

Comments are closed.