"I am the Lord and I change not!"

oneSo says the Lord God in Malachi 3:6.
If that’s not already a bedrock reality in your spiritual life, you should make it one beginning today.

In our world, the vicissitudes of life are all but guaranteed.  Isn’t that ironic? I change, you change, people change, things change. Seasons change and feelings change. The tide dutifully ebbs and flows and the days come and go. Some change is good and some change is not good. Some change is necessary and some change is not. One day we see the mighty and powerful on top and then we look again and they have fallen. Even life itself is in flux. My own father passed away Sept 22. After 91 years of life, change came in the person of death.

Whereas you know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapor, that appears for a little time, and then vanishes away. James 4:14

Knowing that nothing is fixed, our security and confidence should never be in temporary things. We simply can’t afford to depend on or trust in something that has the potential to change without our control…or approval. We see the evidence of that in our nation today. Some people used to be secure in their 401k, salaries and properties. Now, the same people are struggling to survive because what they once placed their trust in has changed. Some people have depended on the promises of others, only to be let down because humanity is shackled with failure and limitations.

And one of the more unsettling things about change is that it affects us all. We are inexplicably bound together in a way that when you suffer, somewhere, somehow, someone experiences the residue of your pain and loss. Conversely, one man’s loss becomes potential for another’s gain.

Are you sure about what you trust?

Remember that old Sure deodorant commercial from the 80s? It helped sell the product because it promised its users that they would be able to operate under pressure without showing the strains of pressure (wet underarms).

The jingle went: “Raise your hand, raise your hand if you’re Sure!” And then you saw people doing that and one closed with Lady Liberty for emphasis. It capitalized on a fundamental human need.

People still want that. If fact, people have always desired to be sure about their choices in relationships, finances, careers, even churches. They want to be sure, but apart from God, there is no full assurance.

That’s expressly why God declares —without reservation— that he does not change. And neither does his word change because he is inseparable from his word (John 1:1-3)

“God is not a man, that He should lie, Nor a son of man, that He should repent; Has He said, and will He not do it? Or has He spoken, and will He not make it good? Numbers 23:19

That’s why my confidence rests securely in him and his word. I want to be convinced beyond a shadow of a doubt that when I face hard times (which I will), when I deal with my enemies (which I will) when my body is fighting sickness (which it will) and other unforeseen challenges, I can depend on God and the promise of his word to carry me through without losing my mind. That kind of confidence brings peace of mind (Is 26:3).

Under attack, but yet standing

In Matthew 24:35, the Lord Jesus said, “Heaven and earth shall pass away, but my words shall not pass away.”  The word of the Lord is indestructible. It is not immune to attack, but it cannot be vanquished. The supernatural brilliance of our God to hide his word in our hearts ensures that it will remain vibrant, organic and powerful in this present world.

That exhilarates my spirit! Many a powerful king and kingdom has risen in the annals of history. But in time they have fallen. Yet, we can boast in our King and say that He will stand forever. Forever is synonymous with God.

Before the mountains were brought forth, or ever you had formed the earth and the world, even from everlasting to everlasting, you are God. Psalms 90:2

There is no beginning nor end to our God. We worship him as the Everlasting Father who knows our beginning and our end, our down sitting and our uprising.

We all know that the real war is against the Word of the Lord. In fact, it began almost as soon as it ushered forth from his lips (Gen 3:1-5) and will continue until the very end (Rev 19:12-21).

But this only serves to confirm the obvious.

The grass withers and the flowers fall, but the word of our God stands forever.” Isaiah 40:8

Self affirming, supernatural and trustworthy

The word of the Lord affirms itself. With or without our consent it stands as absolute not requiring the affirmation of men.

It affirms its nature:

The Words that I speak to you they are spirit and life (John 6:63)

It affirms its origin:

All scripture is given by inspiration of God (2 Tim 3:16)
Above all, you must understand that no prophecy of Scripture came about by the prophet’s own interpretation. For prophecy never had its origin in the will of man, but men spoke from God as they were carried along by the Holy Spirit (2 Pet 1:20,21)

This means that the very words of the scripture were given to the writers, and not just the ideas they convey. The writers were not left to record words of their choosing, but were instructed by God himself as to what was written. At the same time God did not destroy or diminish divergent personalities of the writers because it is the synergy between God and man which helps to authenticate the Word.

It affirms its power:

For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth; to the Jew first, and also to the Greek. (Romans 1:16)

It affirms its wisdom in the person of Christ:

“It is because of Him that you are in Christ Jesus, who has become for us wisdom from God – that is our righteousness, holiness and redemption.” (I Corinthian 1:30)

Conclusion
I wanted to begin our Week in the Word by showing you that you can have full confidence in God and his word. It forms the basis of our belief that his entire will for us is good and perfect. From this confidence we rejoice and we bear witness to others that God is completely trustworthy. And that our trust in Him his promises contain a great benefit for us.

*Enjoy complimentary music to this post on our new audio site.

14 thoughts on “"I am the Lord and I change not!"

  1. 1. How do you really know that you love God’s word?

    Because it’s my daily meat on which I meditate, for all situations.

    2. Has God ever spoken to you through his word without you telling someone else about the situation?

    I believe that he has spoken to me through His word, and besides I choose not to run about like a school girl and share everything that I feel that the Lord gives me, I believe in intimancy which is somewhat a bedrock to a relationship.

    There are some that The Lord will say to that “I never knew you” or had a relationship with you, simply because they were too busy stacking their works or padding their resume, to present to God like as if He would be impressed with that filthy rags righteousness!

    3. Why is it important to fully trust in God’s word?

    This question reminds me of that song that says, There is a storm out on the ocean that is moving this o’way if your soul’s not anchored in Jesus you will surely drift away,
    How true, you trust because you know more storms are coming, and you except /embrace testings because there is a purpose in the trials, mainly to show us what’s remaining in us that needs come ou of us, that would be the dross of our lives!

  2. this is a GREAT article Pastor Foster! really thourough and informative! i pray the Lord will lead you to do this more past this week!! i believe that loving the word is living your life totally in accordance with the word, knowing that we arent perfect but always striving towards it by obeying the statutes and standards GOD has set for us in his word! GOD definitely has spoken to me many times through his word some times as simple as me flippin my Bible open and a certain scripture speaking directly to my situation to GOD just opening a whole new revelation to me while reading his word! last but not least it is definitely the MOST important thing to fully trust in GODS word simply because of the title of the article!! GOD doesnt change and neither does his word! he is faithful and just as well as gracious and merciful! from setting the standards of our living, to sending his son to die for our sins so we can be saved, to even being so gracious as to give us prophets to let us know when the coming of his son would draw nigh!! GOD is just SOO GOOD!!

  3. vaughn

    just one question, not tryna come at you wrong jus wondering, if you feel that GOD has spoken to you though the word why not tell people??? i feel that when GOD reveals truth to you through his word it ought to be shared with others!! you could be one that was meant to tell someone what you know! dnt be selfish and keep revelation to yourself lol!!

  4. Okay I’ll drop my guard for a second since you put it that way, I believe that God has spoken and now speaks to us through His word.

    Jhn 16:13
    Howbeit when he, the Spirit of truth, is come, he will guide you into all truth: for he shall not speak of himself; but whatsoever he shall hear, [that] shall he speak: and he will shew you things to come.

    This is speaking of The Holy Spirit within the believer

    And for that reason I say that He speaks, don’t get me wrong, because I’m not talking about an audible voice, but I am talking of a reminding us of His truths through His revealed word.

    Everytime I’m reminded of what He has said through His word, I’m spoken to as to what to do or avoid.

    This is what I mean and nothing more, because if you know the story of those that were besides the mountain and heard the voice of The Lord in that day, they were terribly frightened, to the point of not wanting to head God audibly speak to them as long as they lived.

    I hope that this makes it plain for you!

  5. I enjoyed this article. It’s amazing how God has an answer for everything, no matter what, in His Word.

    I like how you mentioned that the Word stands on its own and affirms itself. Many times people come to conclusions that are inconsistent with the Word because they fail to search it out fully. I tell people when it comes up, and it does often, that the Word has a double witness. You will find each and everything at least twice. So if something looks confusing or odd in one place, search out that principle in another place in the Bible and it will automatically correct your misunderstanding. God is not the author of confusion.

    Great Post!!

  6. I agree proverbs289. God’s wisdom to embed his word with the “two or three witness” principle is just another example of our Father’s supernatural brilliance far above the shallow knowledge and attack questions of man.

    I would not serve any god who relied on me to defend him.

  7. Thank You Sir – Just what I needed, my alignment was a little off – I lost focus for just one moment – But you have reminded me once again to trust in God’s word alone, even if it’s only one word – that one word I can depend on, even in the mist of the storm, because the One who spoke it is unchanging, all powerful, and His words are life to me. I’m encouraged, and I’m looking forward to what’s on the menu for tomorrow.

    “I am the Lord and I change not!” “I am the Lord and I change not!” “I am the Lord and I change not!” Simply Profound

    AWESOME POST

  8. This is just amazing. It was only this morning that I was meditating on “Truth.” God is truth and every word from Him is truth. No human need to agree with him, to make his words truth. Thank you.

  9. Isaiah 33:5

    5The LORD is exalted, for He dwells on high;
    He has filled Zion with justice and righteousness.

    Psalm 92:8 But You, O LORD, are on high forever.

    An excellent article Pastor Foster.

Comments are closed.