Soon I will be done: Gospel singer Abertina Walker passes

CHICAGO – The Chicago Tribune is reporting that Gospel singer Albertina Walker of Chicago died on Friday at the age of 81.

Born in Chicago in 1929, Walker began singing in the choir of West Point Baptist church at the age of 4. Walker was urged to pursue a gospel singing career by the woman who became her mentor, iconic gospel great Mahalia Jackson. Walker launched her official career at age 22, when, urged by Jackson, she formed her group the Caravans. She was a fixture in body and spirit at Chicago’s Gospel Festival since the event’s inception, both solo and with the Caravans.

Walker had been battling emphysema, and died Friday morning in a Chicago hospital, where she had been since late August.

Walker was noted by those in the black gospel music industry as an influential and “iconic” fixture in the black gospel music world for decades but in 2007 had an unpleasant public brush with the gay christian world and its musical tentacles. Walker agreed to perform at lesbian bishop Yvette Flunder’s nefarious Fellowship Conference.  GCM Watch broke the story in June 2007 with controversial results.

After learning of our story, GCM Watch was contacted by Walker’s granddaughter who stated that the gospel singer was in essence tricked by Flunder’s camp into performing at the event. Tina Nance said that Walker was “quite upset” at being booked at a gay church conference and would put policies in place to prevent it from happening in the future.

“My name is Tina Nance and Albertina Walker is my Grandmother. I came across this article while visiting her today for her Birthday. Let me first say that my grandmother did not know the background of this organization until after the event, had she known this information she would not have been a part of this program. When she learned of this information, after the fact she was quite upset, but by then it was too late. The management company that books the CARAVANS has made the appropriate changes to their process to ensure that this situation does not occur in the future.

Furthermore, I do not understand why my grandmother was singled out when she appeared at this event as part of the Caravans not as a soloist. I realize that her name is perhaps the most recognizable on the flyer, but it would’ve been responsible to mention that she performed with the Caravans and not as a soloist. My grandmother does not in anyway support or promote this lifestyle, this was very simply a case of her not being given pertinent information. Finally, I would like to add that Albertina Walker is possibly the easiest artist to contact on Earth, it would not have been at all difficult for a responsible journalist to reach her.”

You can read the entire story and our response to Tina Nance here.

8 thoughts on “Soon I will be done: Gospel singer Abertina Walker passes

  1. You seem to bring up controversial stuff once someone passes away, I don’t get that. I frequent this board from time to time and enjoy a lot of the articles and information presented. However, I don’t know if I will be coming here anymore. It’s not like you are throwing them under the bus once they die, you clearly have mentioned them in the past, but you moved on. I don’t get why you have to resurface any negativity towards an artist/preacher as soon as they pass away. I’ve seen this happen three times in the past few months, Walter Hawkins, Bishop Kenneth Moales and now Albertina. I mean come on, enough already. You have plenty of living individuals that you can dissect, why pick on the dead?

  2. Jas34, its called news. Sorry that you dont see the value in telling the truth.
    We dont “pick on the dead”. As the story clearly says –with evidence–, this was said openly while AW and WH were ALIVE. So your point is moot. Dont find yourself like a lot of church people who only want to hear good things about the people they idolize. Human idolatry is an ugly thing that we need to be constantly reminded NOT to engage in. I also hope you will not quit reading the bible, because it does the same thing. It brings up the sins of the dead and living as a warning to us not to follow their path. Here it is:

    For I do not want you to be ignorant of the fact, brothers, that our forefathers were all under the cloud and that they all passed through the sea. They were all baptized into Moses in the cloud and in the sea. They all ate the same spiritual food 4and drank the same spiritual drink; for they drank from the spiritual rock that accompanied them, and that rock was Christ. Nevertheless, God was not pleased with most of them; their bodies were scattered over the desert.

    Now these things occurred as examples to keep us from setting our hearts on evil things as they did. Do not be idolaters, as some of them were; as it is written: “The people sat down to eat and drink and got up to indulge in pagan revelry.”b We should not commit sexual immorality, as some of them did—and in one day twenty-three thousand of them died. 9We should not test the Lord, as some of them did—and were killed by snakes. 10And do not grumble, as some of them did—and were killed by the destroying angel.

    These things happened to them as examples and were written down as warnings for us, on whom the fulfillment of the ages has come. So, if you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don’t fall! 1 Cor 10:1-12

    If you choose not to read again, please understand that your choice but if I were you I would search myself to see if there is any idolatry lurking there.

  3. @Jas34-Pastor Foster is absolutely correct. These stories are published not out of spite or hatred, but in defense of the truth, and a better understanding of the current church and the bible.

    Walter Hawkins’ own false teaching and support of Gay Bishop Yvette Flounder (and I misspelled it on purpose) is the reason why after he died she came forward to lament for her old mentor.

    Bishop Moales forced the hand of God by acting in the authority of God. Which we all know is a big no-no.

    As for Albertina, I think Pastor Foster did well to present what happen in the past, as well as acknowledge what her grand-daughter said to refute.

    What’s odd to me is how as these top singers, and bishops, and preachers always claim ignorance in these issues, when everybody else knows exactly whats going on……real odd….

  4. Hello. I am subscribed to your blog via RSS reader. I enjoy your articles and exhortations to follow the Word of God and not back down in the face of persecution.
    As someone who lives outside of a urban metropolitan area, I don’t have urban gospel radio stations to listen to, I do not attend a predominately “black” church (although it is COGIC, we are far from the typical COGIC church…on any given Sunday we have more whites and hispanics than blacks).
    I wanted to let the writers of this blog know that a lot of listeners of gospel music (particularly those who did not grow up listening to gospel music) have NO IDEA about backgrounds of singers/songwriters of gospel music.
    They just know they enjoy the music. I am not making excuses, nor condoning the inexcusable behavior of anyone who claims the name of Christ, but please be aware that some of your readers are truly ignorant of some of the behaviors of gospel music artists that are brought up on this blog.

    I know the writers of this blog do not want to cause confusion in the minds of believers (especially “babes in Christ), so I only steer mature Christians to this site.
    Some who are young in the faith (or immature) have looked at this information as gossip because it is, in their mind, unsubstantiated. I can understand their hesitancy to accept this information because it is so awful.
    Please continue to be a light in the darkness and sharing the truth of God’s Word.

  5. Thank you Tamara. I agree with you. If you are a mature Christian, this blog is not a place you would want to send someone who isnt mature enough to handle the information especially if you think it may cause them to stumble. Reference Romans 14 If they do not know, then it will be in God’s time to open their eyes.
    At the same time, we are commanded to expose the unfruitful works of darkness that masquerade as light. Jesus told us to beware of false prophets, false teachers and and their supporting cast of characters. Matt 7:15

    But consider the definition of these two words:
    Beware – to be cautious and alert to lurking dangers
    Aware – having or showing realization, perception, or knowledge of lurking danger

    There is no way you can beware like Jesus said, if you are not first made aware. Even the world realizes this as a community service. When a person is robbing people in the neighborhood they get a composite picture and put it on television. Plus they tell you what he has done, who was the victim and where the crime occured Why? So that you are made aware of who the person is and can be cautious and alert if you are near those circumstances. They dont want you to be the next victim!

    God wants us to warn the sheep of the spiritual charlatans and yes even spiritual criminals who are preying on the sheep with false teachings which will steal their souls and cause them to be lost. Dont be the next victim of some false prophet, wolf or hireling! Get informed and be aware.

  6. The BIBLE says that the LORD reigns over the just as well as the
    unjust. HE also uses the just as well as the unjust to do his will. Its fine to be aware of things as the BIBLE says but dont put your faith and trust in man as the BIBLE says. Lets put our focus, faith, and trust in the messeage that is being sent to us through his word. Be it songs, teachings, or ministry. Nobody is perfect only JESUS is. Just because these human beings faultered in their walk with GOD as we all do. Doesnt mean that I am going to stop listen to the BIBLE based inspirational music and message that these indivduals have brought to us through GODs will. Some on these people are dead. They will be held accountable for their lives as we all will be. If the “(author)” used as passion to bring more souls to the light as the “(author)” does to concentrate and criticize dead people it would be amazing. Let the dead bury the dead. Just my opinion.

    GCMW: Kosuna, the bible “criticizes” a lot of dead people. Do you also have a problem with that?

  7. @Kosuna Williams-you will find that opinions don’t get very far on this site. And for good reason as well.

    With the current state of the church (apostasy) and its members the time is long gone for us to live on the opinions of man (I feel we never should have). Your opinion is a moot one because you fail to see the real danger in what you are saying.

    Read the comments above (and the other articles as well) if you want more information, and ask God to open your eyes.

  8. As I read this, along with other articles (of which I enjoy), I thought of a YouTube video of Brian Carn. He was speak on how the people of God are deceived. (Brian Carn – Spirit of Perversion and Deception in the Church) After listening, something he said caught my attention and I kept hearing it ringing in my ears. He said that there are so “so-called” preachers, teachers, etc. that appear to be operating under the anointing, but are just gifted. People are often caught up in the emotion and feel that it’s God. I too had to examine myself and I found myself guilty of believing that because they were able to move me to tears, that it had to be the anointing. How mistaken I was!! I then began looking at other artist and their undeniable gift, but it wasn’t the anointing. As I drifted from one video to the next, I happen to come across Yvette Flunder from way back when she song “Thank You Lord” with Walter Hawkins. I said then, “Wow she is anointed!” Yet, when I viewed her a news channel, she was talking about being gay and a pastor. Then I don’t know how I got on GCMW, but I read articles about her and others that literally made me sick!! I sat up on the net all night as I couldn’t sleep. My heart was heavy and I was grieved! All this time, I was loving the music of certain artists, and they were an abomination to not only me, but to God. Tears began to roll down my face as I saw we are truly living in the last days. I’ve never seen or heard such things in all my life within the church. Heretics, Lunatics, Ungodly, Filthy, Liars, Repulsive, and Repugnant!! They do all their madness in the name of the Lord! (Get Em’ Lord!!)

    I heard, many years ago, that Albertina Walker was a lesbian! Lord please forgive me if I’m spreading gosip!!! Truthfully, I did (do) believe it, but who am I to judge. But not only her, but also Rev. Clay Evans. I can’t say what they are (were) because I don’t know them. What I will say is if they are (were) and have not repented and changed, then their destination when they die is the inevitable…..HELL! Regardless of what anyone says or thinks, once you die, your fate has already be set. The only Purgatory is right here…right now. When you close your eyes for the last time, however you lived down here will determine your destination and nobody can change your fate. Get it right before you die!

    Thanks GCMW……you’ve opened my eyes to truth that has once been covered.

Comments are closed.