Moses' mountaintop: hip hop, deliverance and homosexuality

Christian Hip Hop may have gotten a bad rap from some quarters of the church, but artists like B. Moses (Brandon Moses) are pressing ahead into a new promised land where the issues are no longer taboo, but addressed with power, authority and the Word of God. Moses has opened and performed with artists such as Tye Tribbett, J.Moss, Flame, Lecrae, Trip Lee, and D.A. Truth and hails from Columbus, OH. He agreed to talk with GCM Watch about one of his songs “He is Real“, which has had a strong and favorable reaction from the overcoming community.

Gay Christian Movement Watch: B. Moses where did the message concept for the song “He is Real” originate?

Brandon Moses: Well, this has been a subject that has caught my attention for years.  And in preparing to write the “Reppin the King” album. this subject was really strong in my spirit. I really felt that God was leading me to address it. The concern initially was my approach. This [homosexuality] is obviously a controversial and sensitive topic. So the idea came to me that I should find someone that had actually been delivered from homosexuality, and just tell their story and testimony in song form. Well, I heard about the young man (that’s who I’m referring to in the song) from a friend. I interviewed him and asked him to share his story with me. That’s how the concept was shaped.

GCMWAnd so after hearing the young man’s story, was it a struggle for you to decide to rap about it? Any fears?

BM: Wow, after hearing the young man’s story my first thoughts were…”man,what am I getting myself into”. I was blown away by his story. The first thing that really floored me is that he said that the “4 different men” I mention in the song were all preachers. That really shook me up. The next thing was, when he mentioned he slept with over 200 men between the ages of 14-19. I guess it just opened my eyes even more about that lifestyle.  And it also opened my eyes about molestation, not only in general… but also in the church.  So YES, there was fear, and pause, and hesitation to write the song after hearing his story.

GCMW: You mention in the song that you had to “put up a fight to write this song”. Do you think doing something impactful for the Kingdom will bring warfare?

BM: I definitely had to put up a fight to write this song, indeed. I believe when you decide to take a stand for the Kingdom of God there’s definitely going to be spiritual warfare. We know that we don’t war against flesh and blood, but principalities and powers,and spiritual wickedness in high places. (Ephesians 6:11-12)  “He is real” was very, very close to NOT making the album. Mostly out of pure frustration and discouragement. I had this nagging temptation to quit and give up trying to address this issue because I thought I wouldn’t be able to execute it properly. But in the midst of it, God showed me that it was something I would have to press through and go to war in the spirit to push out. Clearly the enemy doesn’t want and didn’t want this message to get out!

GCMW: There are a lot of people (even religious) who don’t believe “change and transformation” apply to homosexuals. Whats the deal on that?

BM: A couple of things come to my mind like lack of faith and little knowledge of what the word of GOD declares. In 1 Cor 6:9-11 the Apostle Paul goes through a list of  people that are in different types of sin, (which includes homosexuals) that will not inherit the kingdom of God. But at verse 11, he goes on to say “And such WERE some of you. But you were washed, but you were sanctified, but you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus and by the spirit of our God.”  Clearly, we see  in this passage that there were EX-homosexuals in the church in Paul’s day. Those that had been saved and delivered from that lifestyle. Plus I think the homosexual agenda and propaganda that is pushed so strongly in society helps contribute to the lie that “once a homosexual, always a homosexual.”

GCMW: Molestation is an ugly issue many people would rather ignore. But its real and destroying people’s lives. He is Real is calling on the church to deal with this, right?

BM: “He is real” is most definitely calling on the church to deal with this molestation epidemic. I think it needs to be exposed and uncovered. Like you said, lives are literally being destroyed. These evil deeds that have been done in the dark need to be brought into the light. Unfortunately, I feel that there is a lot of compromise in the church and rampant sin in the leadership. So, before we the church can really address and confront the issue with authority, I believe there needs to be a lot of repentance and cleansing in the body, and in the leadership. This falls in line with what I said in the 2nd verse. “We’ve lost focus, and turned our back to the lost, let’s repent and turn back to the cross….examine yourself”.

GCMW: Did having your own change and transformation experience with Christ help you in telling this young man’s story?

BM: Absolutely! Although I’ve never experienced the lifestyle he was in. But sin is sin and I have my own testimony of how God brought me out of the mess I was in. So I will always be able to understand the feeling of truly being changed and transformed by the power of God!  And it definitely helped me tell his story.

GCMW: The gospel music industry has pretty much ignored incorporating messages like the one in He is Real. But there seems to be more boldness on the part of artists like yourself, Flame and others to talk about homosexuality and redemption. What are your thoughts on that?

BM: Sometimes when I think about the gospel music industry, I get sick to my stomach. Just being honest. Its really become so watered down, and even with some artists who come into the industry with a pure message of substance, its seems that, not all,  but a lot of them eventually become watered down as well. A part of me loathes the “industry”, but I know I’m called to do what I do. So its part of the deal. I think these issues like homosexuality and molestation and other serious and controversial topics are avoided because the record labels and sometimes the artist, don’t want to risk offending anybody and losing potential record sales or engagements, etc. I had the chance to meet “Flame” a few years back and I thank God for his ministry and he has always been very bold in his messages.  Addressing these issues can obviously be a challenge, the possibility of backlash and hatred is there, but we can not truly be the CHURCH if we do not address these issues in love, and with the power and authority of the Holy Spirit.

GCMW: In my opinion, He is Real is well written and arranged. Is writing a song difficult?

BM: There are some songs that are more difficult to write than others. This song as I explained was a challenge for the reasons I gave. But there are other songs that come together rather quickly. And of course every writer gets “writer’s block” every now and than. I personally think that writing songs for the kingdom can be more difficult, because if you really want to represent God’s heart in song form it takes a sincere devotion to God, making sure your message lines up with God’s word, and also making sure your approach reflects the heart of God. Every song will not have the tone and seriousness of “He is real” but in my opinion, these things still apply nonetheless.

GCMW: You had some help with this. Talk to me about your collaborators and how much of it is your input?

BM: YES! I had some wonderful help on this song! When the concept of the song was first thought of, I wasn’t sure if I would have a male or female singing on it. But I knew I had to have some strong vocals on this song. I was responsible for the concept, and writing all of my parts, and also the chorus. Gospel artist Isaac Simpson is singing the chorus. Background vocals were done by Erik Dillard of Kelicosa Entertainment. And Minister Sean Scales takes us out with that wonderful climactic ending. Erik Dillard mixed and mastered my entire album. I’ve known Isaac Simpson for over 7 years from church and ministry. I went to High school with Minister Sean Scales. It was definitely a blessing to hook up with these brothers to do this song.

GCMW: I agree, the vocals were perfect against the message. So, do you foresee yourself tackling homosexuality in your music in future projects?

BM: I do see myself tackling the issue again in the future. Whether it be through song form, or some other capacity, I just want to make sure that I continue to be led by the Spirit whenever I address this issue again. I’m no expert, and I still have a lot to learn. But its clear to me that God has given me a heart for homosexuals.

7 thoughts on “Moses' mountaintop: hip hop, deliverance and homosexuality

  1. A very refreshing message. Great testimony, although I would not consider him by (genre) Hip-hop. His presentation is sincere, authentic and encouraging. Good interview.

  2. My brotha! Amen! Keep representing the Kingdom!! This song is powerful and i believe it’s changed the lives of some people i know. This is a very sound interview…no fluff, all truth, all God, I love it. Keep pressing towards that mark, B! This is a topic i believe you’ve been called to tackle because you will do it in love. Blessings and Increase

  3. May The LORD continue to strengthen this young man.

    Great song, that more about the content then the package. Its has a great sound but you can tell that the focus is not getting our heads to bop but getting our hearts to bow!

    May The LORD continue to be glorified through this ministry!

  4. Christon, thats a message for the millenium. Obedience is always better than sacrifice.

    @ Paul, very true. It has a awesome sound and feel to it. I emotionally connected to it but the most powerful aspect was the message was so in tha Book.

  5. Wow this song is phenomenal! I hope this song will continue to touch souls and change lives. I love to sit back and watch how God will use anyone who wants to be used and clearly BMoses is being used by God. Continue to allow yourself to be open and do whatever God leads you to do with no questions asked. Trust you will forever be Blessed.

Comments are closed.