Let's talk about hate

Look around you and if you haven’t noticed, everybody is talking about love.  People adore it, idolize it, romanticize it, sing about it and write best selling books about it. But what about hate? Why is hate treated like the bubonic plague, like some alien concept no human being should ever be associated with? Why is love treated as the great uniter, while hate is seen as the great divider?  Perhaps the only time you publicly hear about hate is when the homosexual movement and its hypocritical allies are in serial screed mode screaming “thou shalt not hate” at the rest of the world.

In contrast, the contemporary church and in particular the image whores who psychobabble on Christian television every week would NEVER talk about hate because it would ruin their carefully manicured images of love and acceptance.

But what does the Bible teach about hate? Are we allowed or even expected  to hate certain things and certain people? Does God hate people? Is all hate a sin? You’d be surprised to find out that hate has gotten a bad rap by bible haters.

Have you noticed that while those who continuously call for “NO H8” and put silver tape around their mouths then take model shots don’t have a problem showing their hate and disdain for truth and those who advocate for the truth about homosexuality? Remember the popular bumper sticker  —“Hate is not a family value”— that the political inclusionistas sported when the nation was debating a constitutional amendment against same sex marriage? It generally was put on a gay rainbow flag background so there was no mistaking who the so-called “hate” was being directed at. And the unspoken inference was that homosexual “love” was a family value  Proponents contended that people “hated” homosexuals because they feared what they didnt understand. If that logic is good for one side, shouldn’t it be applicable for the other? The reason homosexuals hate and fear the truth is because they don”t understand it.

Because people use the word hate in ways that seem only to benefit their presuppositions, it has spawned all types of language weapons such as: “hate crimes”, “hate speech” and the dreaded “homophobia”.

Desplendering hate

Truth is we live in a world system that misunderstands and misapplies hate primarily because they misunderstand God and his word. Jesus said,  “The world will hate you because they hated me” (Mt 10:22, Mark 13:13, Luke 21:17, John 15:18).  And isn’t it interesting that he used the word hate, not dislike. And isn’t it interesting that he said the world would never love us because we identify with and tell HIS truth?  The world eschews hate only when its to their benefit to do so.

Hate has various uses and definitions which must be applied appropriately if we are to have an honest conversation about it.

Its impossible to list all the shades, variations and nuances of hate.  Like legion, they are many. Some hate is morally neutral while some hate is morally sinful. For  example, I can say that I hate cole slaw (and I really do) and no one would blink an eye. But if I said I hate Barak Obama (and I don’t), some people would be ready to call the secret service. Some hate causes people to stay away from dangerous things while some hate causes people to commit dangerous acts.

Thus, not all hate is wrong. The variations of hate can fall into one of the following three main categories:

1. Relative preference/consideration or judgment of one thing over another. No man can serve two masters, he will love the one and hate the other (Matt 6:24)
2. Malicious and/or unjustifiable feelings against another whether innocent of guilty.
3. an extreme aversion towards that which is evil or the acts of people which are considered evil

Its always wrong to hate people (whether their actions are right or wrong) but its never wrong to hate the actions of people which God has said are sinful. That’s a perfect place to segue to loving people and hating sin.

True or false?: Love the sinner, hate the sin

You have heard it many times before that we should love the sinner, hate the sin. Perhaps you have said it yourself. Personally, I put that statement in the same category as “God made Adam and Eve, not Adam and Steve”. Both are trite cliches and I hate them, however both are true in context.

We may all have our opinions about what constitutes hate and what should or should not be allowed, but what does God say and are we willing to accept what he says?

“Through thy precepts [God’s Word] I get understanding: therefore I hate every false way” (Psalm 119:104)

David’s words form the foundation and orientation for how and what we should hate. We do not have unfettered liberty to hate as it is closely confined to only “what God hates”. And here we discover that God hates every false way. How do we determine what is a false way? The only way to determine what is a false way is to compare it to God’s true way as stated in his word. We know homosexuality is a false way because God did not create the male and female and tell them to find someone of the same gender and have sex with them. That simply does not exist. Thus, all sexual activities that are outside of what God commanded and blessed are false ways and false roads. We know where a false road leads to.  And we have liberty to hate them as he does.

Yet, we must be careful that our hate is not prejudicial or motivated by personal vendettas apart from God. The scriptures are clear on that.

Everyone who hates his brother is a murderer, and you know that no murderer has eternal life abiding in him. 1 John 3:15

Such hatred is malicious and does not reflect the divine nature rather it reflects the nature of satan. John frames his words with the story of Cain and Abel who represent humanity.

Hating the deeds of the sinner is well within the realm of our biblical responsibilities. It is not a sin. If it was then Jesus himself sinned. In Revelation 2:6, he praised the church at Ephesus for “hating the deeds of the Nicolaitans, which I hate also”.

The deeds of the Nicolaitans have been seen as any teaching that would enslave others to false teaching. False teachers and their false teachings enslave others and the Lord Jesus Christ hates that! As David said in Psalm 119, we should hate every false way.

Its important to note that Christ didnt say he hated the Nicolaitans, but their deeds (actions). Our posture towards sin (even in us) should be antagonistic. To attempt to coexist with what God hates is dangerous for the spirit. Already we have seen the devastating effects of what happens when the church embraces and tolerates what God hates.  God hates and it is not a contradiction of his love essence.

Do some people actually hate homosexuals? Of course they do. They are full of sin and hating people is a product of that sin. Do some homosexuals hate people? Of course they do and in addition to their sexual immorality, they too are full of sin and hate is a product of sin.

But as followers of Jesus Christ, we should hate what he hates and only love what he loves. He hates all sin and loves all people. Everything we do should be motivated by love of God, his Word and God’s plan for humanity.

Share your thoughts about hate and the bible in the comment section.

9 thoughts on “Let's talk about hate

  1. Pastor Foster, I’m at work, and I can’t even begin to comment on this article the way my spirit man really wishes to comment for lack to time (the fact that I have to actually work!) But I tell you, you are ABSOLUTELY ON POINT! Just from what I encountered this past weekend at church and as you stated, constantly hearing “christian folks” preach “the love doctrine”, had me thinking that maybe I was being too “judgmental” and walking in a spirit of hate. But the devil is a lie! God is a God of love, but not all “love” is of God, and He is ABSOLUTELY A GOD OF HATE AS WELL..

    Thank you for this article Pastor Foster and I will review it further when I get home this evening.

  2. My pastor gave a sermon one time talking about how “hate” is a family value.

    New American Standard Bible
    Proverbs 6:16
    There are six things which the LORD hates, Yes, seven which are an abomination to Him:

    Could the Bible be any more clear?

  3. You are most welcome Godlysoldier. Its been something on my mind for some time now and I just had to get it out.
    Hate has a place and we ought not to be deceived into all the false mushy-mushy “love” that never speaks out against wickedness.
    Once you get off work, you need to come on and let’s work it out, ok? lol

  4. Praise the LORD! Pastor Foster, man of GOD, you have been on fire since I last checked in with you.

    One of those famous christian cliches that really isn’t scriptural, “GOD is good all the time! And all the time GOD is good!” But what does the word of GOD say, Romans 11:22 KJV “Behold therefore the goodness and severi ty of God: on them which fell, severity; but toward thee, goodness, if thou continue in his goodness: otherwise thou also shalt be cut off…”

    That word severity comes from the severe definition: excessive sternness; “severity of character”; “the harshness of his punishment was inhuman”. GOD does not play. I would not want to get GOD’s severity! Amen. And if you look at this verse in Romans, the word “IF” is there…meaning it is conditonal upon each of us to continue in HIS goodness or we also shall be cut off.

  5. Well, my spirit man has calmed down, so hopefully I can just type my comment to this article without going off on a rant. LOL!

    I was just so tired of hearing about “love this” and “love that”, and Christians are to just “love” and after church on Sunday, I was just done!

    It has gotten to the point that “the church” isn’t concerned about holiness, as the Lord says “be holy for I am Holy” and “without holiness, no one will see Him,” no, we are just supposed to love the sinner AND their sin AND “christians” living in sin; heaven forbid you should speak out against the sin, then you are “not showing the love of Christ.”

    Now don’t get me wrong, I have no hate in my heart for anyone, for we are to love our enemies, and our neighbors as ourselves.
    But now, it seems like it’s getting to the point where we are to turn a deaf ear and blind eye to sin, all in the name of “love.”

    I found out this past Sunday that the church my family and I “were” planning on joining will allow someone that’s a homosexual to serve on “certain” ministries. I asked the Pastor this question directly and that was the answer I was given. Of course I used homosexuality as an example, but no one living in open unrepentant sin should be allowed to serve in a church. Long story short, while I was later discussing this with my husband, he heard me out, then simply told me to “get over myself.” He also said that no church is perfect (I know this) and that I’m not the shepherd of the church, so I don’t have to give an account for the sheep, the Pastor does. My point was, if someone is allowed to serve while living in unrepentant sin, then isn’t that sending the message that they are ok if the Pastor is allowing me to serve because he’s showing me “love” as “Jesus would?” What ever happened to church discipline that Paul addresses in the Corinthian Church with the unrepentant man sleeping with his father’s wife. (1 Cor Chpt 5). Paul admonishes them to deal with the sin, not just continue to let him prance around in his open sin in the church in the name of “love.”
    Love is speaking the truth, loving them enough to tell them the truth.
    I know love covers a multitude of sin, and that’s what Jesus did by dying for us; The love He had for us covered our sins IF we’ve accepted Him and keep His commandments. However, it’s the Truth that makes you free, and the truth is “GOD HATES SIN” and will punish it should there be no repentance.

    So after my husband made that comment, I of course did a “heart check” to make sure I wasn’t harboring any “hate” in my heart for people that call themselves christians yet are living in sin. However, the Holy Spirit in me keeps letting me know that it’s not “people” I hate, but sin, and the righteous anger that goes along with seeing open sin allowed in the church and not being addressed…because we just want to “love” people.

    I truly believe that “hate” is the new “race card” that’s being pulled against any christian that speaks and calls out sin and what’s being used to silence the church. My heart truly aches because this is so much deeper than just being called a “judgmental christian” operating in a spirit of “hate.” It’s ok for them to “hate” us for speaking truth, but when true christians speak and don’t condone or tolerate sin, it’s “hate” to the 10th power!
    Twisted love is a key element in the inclusion agenda and we are going to hear more and more of this as the harlot church continues to expand and “attempt” to silence the real church of God.

    May we all continue to watch and pray and not be fooled and romanced by this false “love doctrine.” The devil continues to produce a perverted counterfeit of everything that God created and ordained for His creation.

    And on that note, thank you Pastor Foster for allowing me to get this off my chest and I do apologize if I somewhat deviated from the topic.

    Have a blessed evening.

  6. “then simply told me to “get over myself.” He also said that no church is perfect (I know this) and that I’m not the shepherd of the church, so I don’t have to give an account for the sheep, the Pastor does.”

    Sorry, but husband has VERY bad logic. However I think this is the way a lot of contemporary church folk think. They are hands off and its not my business. Thanks to the false teachers the tricks are working.

    First off, there is no caste system in the body of Christ. ALL of us are responsible for the spiritual health and welfare of the church. Leaders only have EXTRA responsibility but that in no way releases us from responsibility.

    Secondly obeying God’s word is not a matter of perfection. Its a matter of obedience which the pastor should know is better than sacrifice. Because of his disobedience in allowing an unrepentant homosexual into ANY position of influence he is sacrificing the integrity of God’s house of prayer. You allow thieves in and they will most certainly steal. And thieves open doors for other thieves.

    The problem is we have become afraid of telling people point blank they need to repent. Leadership in the Lord’s church is not a right its a privilege that we should strive to guard. That is if we really care about the sheep. If not, let the homosexuals, pedophiles, theives and other sex outlaws into position.

    Don’t be surprised pastor when hell takes over. You allowed it in and what do you expect when you allow a bull into a china store?

  7. AMEN Pastor Foster! My husband calls me a “radical.” I take that as a compliment..a radical lover of God’s word! LOL!
    I like the “bull in the china store” analogy!

    I’m going to continue to “love” enough to tell the truth and “hate” what God hates. His word is clear on this, and thus His word is the ultimate authority, not how we “feel.” Our understanding must include the WHOLE COUNSEL of God’s word, not just one side of it.

    Psalm 119:103-105 (NKJV)

    103 How sweet are Your words to my taste,
    Sweeter than honey to my mouth!
    104 Through Your precepts I get understanding;
    Therefore I HATE every false way.

    What we love, we love to think of. All true wisdom is from God. A good man carries his Bible with him, if not in his hands, yet in his head and in his heart. By meditation on God’s testimonies we understand more than our teachers, when we understand our own hearts. The written word is a more sure guide to heaven, than all the fathers, the teachers, and ancients of the church. We cannot, with any comfort or boldness, attend God in holy duties, while under guilt, or in any by-way.

    It was Divine grace in his heart, that enabled the psalmist to receive these instructions. The soul has its tastes as well as the body. Our relish for the word of God will be greatest, when that for the world and the flesh is least. The way of sin is a wrong way; and the more understanding we get by the precepts of God, the more rooted will be our HATRED OF SIN; and the more ready we are in the Scriptures, the better furnished we are with answers to temptation.
    (Matthew Henry’s Commentary on Ps 119)

  8. Good work! This post is an excellent example of why I keep coming back to read your excellent quality content. Thank you!

Comments are closed.